

Memorandum

TO: Presidents & Chancellors-Public Universities, Health-Related

Institutions, and State Colleges

FROM: Harrison Keller, Ph.D. Commissioner of Higher Education

DATE: November 27, 2023

SUBJECT: Tuition Rate for Nonresident and Foreign Students for Academic

Year 2024-2025

As directed by Section 54.051(d) of the Texas Education Code, Coordinating Board staff has determined that the tuition rate for nonresident students enrolled in public universities and health-related institutions for the academic year 2024-2025 will be set at \$460 per semester credit hour plus any designated tuition and, when appropriate, Board-authorized graduate tuition charged by your institution. Exceptions include tuition rates for nonresident students enrolled in medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, or law. The tuition rates for those students are provided in other paragraphs of Section 54.051 of the Texas Education Code.

The nonresident tuition set-aside for the Texas Public Educational Grant Program (TPEG) is three percent of the basic nonresident tuition rate of \$460 per hour. TPEG funds are not subtracted from designated tuition or Board-authorized tuition.

A description of the nonresident tuition rate calculation and a copy of the relevant statute are attached. If you would like more information about the figures, please contact Ken Pon at 512-427-6424 or by e-mail at Ken.Pon@highered.texas.gov.

Attachments:

Statute re nonresident tuition rate.pdf

Nonresident Tuition Rate AY 2024-2025.pdf

c: Chief Financial Officers-Public Universities, Health-Related Institutions, and State Colleges
Institution Liaisons



Questions? Contact us

How are we doing? <u>Customer Satisfaction</u> Survey









GET UPDATES:

SUBSCRIBER SERVICES:

Manage Subscriptions | Subscriber Help |

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Calculation of Nonresident Tuition Rates for AY 2024-2025

Section 54.051 (d) of the Texas Education Code requires that nonresident student tuition equal the average tuition charged to a Texas resident attending a public university in each of the five most populous states of the United States. The Coordinating Board staff utilizes the latest tuition and fee data available from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS). This amount is adjusted using the Consumer Price Index (CPI or inflation rate) to compensate for not having current fiscal year averages.

Estimated below is the most recently reported average nonresident tuition and fee figures for 30 semester credit hours (SCH) for the 2022-2023 academic year for the five most populous states other than Texas, and then adjusted based on the most recent CPI:

California	\$27,466
Florida	\$22,282
Illinois	\$20,007
New York	\$19,292
Pennsylvania	\$24,347
	Average \$22,679

Data Sources: The Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS - 2022 to 2023, The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor (BLS), Integrated Fiscal Reporting System (IFRS) - fall 2022.

The base nonresident tuition for Texas was calculated as follows:

Average tuition and fees for the five most populous states	\$22,679
Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH	-\$3,077
Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH	-\$5,808
\$22,679 + (-\$3,077 + -5,808) = \$13,794	
Average nonresident tuition, less fees	\$13,794
$13,794 \div 30 (SCH) = 460$	
Base Texas nonresident tuition per credit hour	

Each institution should add designated tuition to the base nonresident tuition, and when appropriate, Board-authorized graduate tuition in order to compute total nonresident tuition.

Nonresident tuition = \$460 per SCH + (Designated Tuition) + (Board-authorized Graduate Tuition)

Section 54.051(d) of the Texas Education Code provides:

Unless a different rate is specified by this section, tuition for a nonresident student at a general academic teaching institution or medical and dental unit is an amount per semester credit hour equal to the average of the nonresident undergraduate tuition charged to a resident of this state at a public state university in each of the five most populous states other than this state, as computed by the coordinating board under this section. The coordinating board shall set the tuition rate provided by this subsection for each academic year and report that rate to each appropriate institution not later than January 1 of the calendar year in which the academic year begins, or as soon after the January 1 date as practicable. In computing the tuition rate, the coordinating board shall use the nonresident tuition rates for the other states in effect for the academic year in progress when the board makes the computation.

REVISION

In the memorandum, Tuition Rate for Nonresident and Foreign Students for Academic Year 2024-2025, the link to "Statute re nonresident tuition rate.pdf" requires a correction. \$470 should be \$460.

The base nonresident tuition for Texas was calculated as follows:

Average tuition and fees for the five most populous states \$22,679

Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH -\$3,077

Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH -\$5,808

$$$22,679 + (-\$3,077 + -5,808) = \$13,794$$

Average nonresident tuition, less fees

$$$13,794 $13,794 \div 30 (SCH) = $460$$

Base Texas nonresident tuition per credit hour

\$470 should be \$460