

1801 N. Congress, Suite 12.200, Austin, TX 78701

Mail: PO Box 12788, Austin, TX 78711-2788

Phone: 512-427-6101 Fax: 512-427-6127

Fred Farias III, O.D. CHAIR

January 20, 2023

Donna N. Williams VICE CHAIR

S. Javaid Anwar SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Georgia A. Hejny STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

Richard L. Clemmer Robert P. Gauntt Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Welcome Wilson, Jr. Daniel O. Wong

Harrison Keller, Ph.D.
COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER
EDUCATION

TO: Presidents & Chancellors-Public Universities, Public Health-Related

Memorandum

Institutions, and Public State Colleges

FROM: Harrison Keller, Ph.D.

Commissioner of Higher Education

SUBJECT: Tuition Rate for Nonresident and Foreign Students

for Academic Year 2023-2024

As directed by Section 54.051(d) of the Texas Education Code, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) staff has determined that the tuition rate for nonresident students enrolled in public universities and health-related institutions for the academic year 2023-2024 will be set at \$470 per semester credit hour plus any designated tuition and, when appropriate, Board-authorized graduate tuition charged by your institution. Exceptions include tuition rates for nonresident students enrolled in medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, or law. The tuition rates for those students are provided in other paragraphs of Section 54.051 of the Texas Education Code.

The nonresident tuition designated for the Texas Public Educational Grant Program (TPEG) is three percent of the basic nonresident tuition rate of \$470 per hour. TPEG funds are not subtracted from designated tuition or Board-authorized tuition.

A description of the nonresident tuition rate calculation and a copy of the relevant statute are attached. If you would like more information about the figures, please contact Ken Pon at 512-427-6424 or by e-mail at <a href="Men.Pon@highered.texas.gov">Ken.Pon@highered.texas.gov</a>.

## **Attachments**

c: Chief Financial Officers-Public Universities, Health-Related Institutions, and State Colleges

Liaisons-Universities and HRIs

Lori Fey, Deputy Commissioner for Data Analytics and Research Kara Larkan-Skinner, Assistant Commissioner for Data Management and Research

DMR/KP/GG/cr

## Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Calculation of Nonresident Tuition Rates for AY 2023-2024

Section 54.051 (d) of the Texas Education Code requires that nonresident student tuition equal the average tuition charged to a Texas resident attending a public university in each of the five most populous states of the United States. The Coordinating Board staff utilizes the latest tuition and fee data available from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS). This amount is adjusted using the Consumer Price Index (CPI or inflation rate) to compensate for not having current fiscal year averages.

Estimated below is the most recently reported average nonresident tuition and fee figures for 30 semester credit hours (SCH) for the 2021-2022 academic year for the five most populous states other than Texas, and then adjusted based on the most recent CPI:

California	\$28,346
Florida	\$23,152
Illinois	\$20,687
New York	\$20,088
Pennsylvania	\$22,193
Aver	age \$22,893

Data Sources: The Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS - 2021 to 2022, The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor (BLS), Integrated Fiscal Reporting System (IFRS) - fall 2021.

The base nonresident tuition for Texas was calculated as follows:

Average tuition and fees for the five most populous states	\$22,893
Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH	-\$3,050
Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH	-\$5,740
4	

\$22,893 + (-\$3,050 + -5,740) = \$14,103

Average nonresident tuition, less fees \$14,103

 $$14,103 \div 30 (SCH) = $470$ 

Base Texas nonresident tuition per credit hour \$470

Each institution should add designated tuition to the base nonresident tuition, and when appropriate, Board-authorized graduate tuition in order to compute total nonresident tuition.

Nonresident tuition = \$470 per SCH + (Designated Tuition)

+ (Board-authorized Graduate Tuition)

Section 54.051(d) of the Texas Education Code provides:

Unless a different rate is specified by this section, tuition for a nonresident student at a general academic teaching institution or medical and dental unit is an amount per semester credit hour equal to the average of the nonresident undergraduate tuition charged to a resident of this state at a public state university in each of the five most populous states other than this state, as computed by the coordinating board under this section. The coordinating board shall set the tuition rate provided by this subsection for each academic year and report that rate to each appropriate institution not later than January 1 of the calendar year in which the academic year begins, or as soon after the January 1 date as practicable. In computing the tuition rate, the coordinating board shall use the nonresident tuition rates for the other states in effect for the academic year in progress when the board makes the computation.

	Calculations for Non-Resident Tuition		
Based on data from IPEDS			
Non-Weighted average times C	PI		
Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U)			
	4.7.2022.2024		
	AY 2023-2024		
	Data from most		
	current IPEDS		
	2021-2022		
California	\$28,346		
Florida	\$23,152		
Illinois	\$20,687		
New York	\$20,088		
Pennsylvania	\$22,193		
·			
5-State Total	\$114,466		
Average tuition and fees for the five most populous states	\$22,893		
_			
_	Fall 2021 IFRS		
Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH (from	Fall 2021 IFRS -\$3,050		
Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report)  Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH (from	Fall 2021 IFRS -\$3,050 -\$5,740		
Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report) Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report)  Less: Average nonresident tuition, less fees  Base Texas nonresident tuition per credit hour	\$22,893  Fall 2021 IFRS -\$3,050 -\$5,740  \$14,103		
Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report) Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report)  Less: Average nonresident tuition, less fees	Fall 2021 IFRS -\$3,050 -\$5,740		
Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report) Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report)  Less: Average nonresident tuition, less fees  Base Texas nonresident tuition per credit hour	Fall 2021 IFRS -\$3,050 -\$5,740 \$14,103		
Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report) Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report)  Less: Average nonresident tuition, less fees  Base Texas nonresident tuition per credit hour (avg divide by 30)	Fall 2021 IFRS -\$3,050 -\$5,740 \$14,103		
Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report) Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report)  Less: Average nonresident tuition, less fees  Base Texas nonresident tuition per credit hour (avg divide by 30)  Methodology using IPEDS data (example)	Fall 2021 IFRS -\$3,050 -\$5,740 \$14,103		
Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report) Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report)  Less: Average nonresident tuition, less fees  Base Texas nonresident tuition per credit hour (avg divide by 30)  Methodology using IPEDS data (example) For AY 2023-2024 Nonresident calculations	Fall 2021 IFRS -\$3,050 -\$5,740 \$14,103		
Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report) Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report)  Less: Average nonresident tuition, less fees  Base Texas nonresident tuition per credit hour (avg divide by 30)  Methodology using IPEDS data (example)	Fall 2021 IFRS -\$3,050 -\$5,740 \$14,103		
Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report) Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH (from IFRS tuition and fee report)  Less: Average nonresident tuition, less fees  Base Texas nonresident tuition per credit hour (avg divide by 30)  Methodology using IPEDS data (example) For AY 2023-2024 Nonresident calculations IPEDS 2021-2022 tuition and fee data	Fall 2021 IFRS -\$3,050 -\$5,740 \$14,103		