

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Fred Farias III, O.D. CHAIR

Donna N. Williams VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Matthew B. Smith STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Richard L. Clemmer Robert P. Gauntt Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Welcome Wilson. Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.highered.texas.gov

MEMORANDUM

October 26, 2021

TO: Presidents & Chancellors-Public Universities, Public Health-Related

Institutions, and Public State Colleges

FROM: Harrison Keller, Ph.D.

SUBJECT: Tuition Rate for Nonresident and Foreign Students

for Academic Year 2022-2023

As directed by Section 54.051(d) of the Texas Education Code, Coordinating Board staff has determined that the tuition rate for nonresident students enrolled in public universities and health-related institutions for the academic year 2022-2023 will be set at \$458 per semester credit hour plus any designated tuition and, when appropriate, Board-authorized graduate tuition charged by your institution. Exceptions include tuition rates for nonresident students enrolled in medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, and law. The tuition rates for those students are provided in other paragraphs of Section 54.051 of the Texas Education Code.

The nonresident tuition set-aside for the Texas Public Educational Grant Program (TPEG) is three percent of the basic nonresident tuition rate of **\$458** per hour. TPEG set-asides are not subtracted from designated tuition or Board-authorized tuition.

A description of the nonresident tuition rate calculation and a copy of the relevant statute are enclosed. If you would like more information about the figures, please contact Victor Reyna at 512-427-6286 or by e-mail at Victor.Reyna@highered.texas.gov.

Enclosures

c:

Chief Financial Officers-Public Universities, Public Health-Related Institutions, and Public State Colleges Liaisons-Universities and HRIs

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Calculation of Nonresident Tuition Rates for AY 2022-2023

Section 54.051 (d) of the Texas Education Code requires that nonresident student tuition equal the average tuition charged to a Texas resident attending a public university in each of the five most populous states of the United States. The Coordinating Board staff utilizes the latest tuition and fee data available from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS). This amount is adjusted using the Consumer Price Index (CPI or inflation rate) to compensate for not having current fiscal year averages.

Estimated below is the most recently reported average nonresident tuition and fee figures for 30 semester credit hours (SCH) for the 2020-2021 academic year for the five most populous states other than Texas, and then adjusted based on the most recent CPI:

California	\$27,725
Florida	\$22,728
Illinois	\$19,869
New York	\$19,508
Pennsylvania	\$21,485
Total	\$111,315
Average	\$22,263

Data Sources: The Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS - 2020 to 2021, The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor (BLS), Integrated Fiscal Reporting System (IFRS) - fall 2020

The base nonresident tuition for Texas was calculated as follows:

•	Average tuition and	l fees for the	five most popu	lous states	\$22,263
---	---------------------	----------------	----------------	-------------	----------

Less:

Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH	-\$2,961
Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH	<u>-\$5,558</u>

Average nonresident tuition, less fees \$13,744

Base Texas nonresident tuition per credit hour \$13,744/30 SCH)
 \$ 458

Each institution should add designated tuition to the base nonresident tuition, and when appropriate, Board-authorized graduate tuition in order to compute total nonresident tuition.

```
Nonresident tuition = $458 per SCH + (Designated Tuition)
+ (Board-authorized Graduate Tuition)
```

Section 54.051(d) of the Texas Education Code provides:

Unless a different rate is specified by this section, tuition for a nonresident student at a general academic teaching institution or medical and dental unit is an amount per semester credit hour equal to the average of the nonresident undergraduate tuition charged to a resident of this state at a public state university in each of the five most populous states other than this state, as computed by the coordinating board under this section. The coordinating board shall set the tuition rate provided by this subsection for each academic year and report that rate to each appropriate institution not later than January 1 of the calendar year in which the academic year begins, or as soon after the January 1 date as practicable. In computing the tuition rate, the coordinating board shall use the nonresident tuition rates for the other states in effect for the academic year in progress when the board makes the computation.