

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION **COORDINATING BOARD**

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Memorandum

November 20, 2020

Presidents & Chancellors-Public Universities, Public Health-Related Institutions, and Public State Colleges

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. From:

Subject: Tuition Rate for Nonresident and Foreign Students for Academic Year 2021-2022

As directed by Section 54.051(d) of the Texas Education Code, Coordinating Board staff has determined that the tuition rate for nonresident students enrolled in public universities and health-related institutions for the academic year 2021-2022 will be set at **\$458** per semester credit hour plus any designated tuition and, when appropriate, Board-authorized graduate tuition charged by your institution. Exceptions include tuition rates for nonresident students enrolled in medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, and law. The tuition rates for those students are provided in other paragraphs of Section 54.051 of the Texas Education Code.

The nonresident tuition set-aside for the Texas Public Educational Grant Program (TPEG) is three percent of the basic nonresident tuition rate of **\$458** per hour. TPEG set-asides are not subtracted from designated tuition or Board-authorized tuition.

A description of the nonresident tuition rate calculation and a copy of the relevant statute are enclosed. If you would like more information about the figures, please contact Julie Eklund via email at Julie.Eklund@highered.texas.gov or by phone at 512-427-6533.

Attachments

c: Chief Financial Officers-Public Universities, Public Health-Related Institutions, and Public State Colleges Liaisons-Universities and HRIs

SPF/kp/bb

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Levi D. McClenny

S. Javaid Anwar Cody C. Campbell Emma W. Schwartz

R. Sam Torn Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

To: STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.highered.texas.gov

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Calculation of Nonresident Tuition Rates for AY 2021-2022

Section 54.051 (d) of the Texas Education Code requires that nonresident student tuition equal the average tuition charged to a Texas resident attending a public university in each of the five most populous states of the United States. The Coordinating Board staff utilizes the latest tuition and fee data available from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS). This amount is adjusted using the Consumer Price Index (CPI or inflation rate) to compensate for not having current fiscal year averages.

The five most populous states other than Texas, and their reported average nonresident tuition and fee figures for 30 semester credit hours (SCH) for the 2018-2019 academic year, are as follows:

California	\$26,504			
Florida	\$21,049			
Illinois	\$20,538			
New York	\$18,887			
Pennsylvania	\$22,384			
Total	\$109,362			
Average	\$21,872			
Data Source: The Integrated Postsecondary				
Education Data System (IPEDS - 2019 to				
2020, The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the				
U.S. Department of Labor (BLS), Integrated				
Fiscal Reporting System (IFRS) - fall 2019				

The base nonresident tuition for Texas was calculated as follows:

•	Average tuition and fees for the five most populous states	\$21,872
---	--	----------

•	Less: Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH	-\$2,835 \$5,287	
•	Average nonresident tuition, less fees		\$13,750

Base Texas nonresident tuition per credit hour \$13,750/30 SCH) \$ 458

Each institution should add designated tuition to the base nonresident tuition, and when appropriate, Board-authorized graduate tuition in order to compute total nonresident tuition.

Nonresident tuition = \$458 per SCH + (Designated Tuition) + (Board-authorized Graduate Tuition) Section 54.051(d) of the Texas Education Code provides:

Unless a different rate is specified by this section, tuition for a nonresident student at a general academic teaching institution or medical and dental unit is an amount per semester credit hour equal to the average of the nonresident undergraduate tuition charged to a resident of this state at a public state university in each of the five most populous states other than this state, as computed by the coordinating board under this section. The coordinating board shall set the tuition rate provided by this subsection for each academic year and report that rate to each appropriate institution not later than January 1 of the calendar year in which the academic year begins, or as soon after the January 1 date as practicable. In computing the tuition rate, the coordinating board shall use the nonresident tuition rates for the other states in effect for the academic year in progress when the board makes the computation.