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MEMORANDUM

January 9, 2018

To: Chancellors and Presidents
Texas Public Universities and Health-Related Institutions
Texas Public State Colleges

Raymund A. Paredes Mp

Tuition Rate for Nonresident and Foreign Students
for Academic Year 2018-2019

From:

Subject:

As directed by Section 54.051(d) of the Texas Education Code, Coordinating
Board staff has determined that the tuition rate for nonresident students enrolled
in public universities, Lamar State Colleges, and health-related institutions for the
academic year 2018-2019 will be set at $465 per semester credit hour plus any
designated tuition and, when appropriate, Board-authorized qraduate tuition
charged by your institution. Exceptions include tuition rates for nonresident
students enrolled in medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, and law. The tuition
rates for those students are provided in other paragraphs of Section 54.051 of the
Texas Education Code.

The nonresident tuition set-aside for the Texas Public Educational Grant
Program (TPEG) is three percent of the basic nonresident tuition rate of $465 per
hour. TPEG set-asides are not subtracted from designated tuition or Board-
authorized tuition.

A description of the nonresident tuition rate calculation and a copy of the
relevant statute are enclosed. If you would like more information about the
figures, please contact Julie Eklund at 512-427-6533 or by e-mail at
Julie.Eklund@thecb.state.tx.us.

Enclosures

c:  Chief Fiscal Officer

AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER




Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Calculation of Nonresident Tuition Rates for Fall 2016

Section 54.051 (d) of the Texas Education Code requires that nonresident student tuition equal
the average tuition charged to a Texas resident attending a public university in each of the five
most populous states of the United States. Because most states do not differentiate between
tuition and fees, Coordinating Board staff interprets the Legislature’s directive to mean that the
combination of base tuition, designated tuition, and fees in Texas should be equal to the
average of tuition and fees in the other five most populous states.

The five most populous states other than Texas, and their reported average nonresident tuition
and fee figures for 30 semester credit hours (SCH) for the 2016-2017 academic year, are as
follows:

California $24,793
Florida $21,191
lllinois $20,407
New York $17,652
Pennsylvania $21,406
Total $105,449

Average $21,090

Data Source: The Integrated Postsecondary
Education Data System (IPEDS - 2016 to
2017, The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the
U.S. Department of Labor (BLS), Integrated
Fiscal Reporting System (IFRS) - fall 2016

The base nonresident tuition for Texas was calculated as follows:

= Average tuition and fees for the five most populous states $21,090
e Less:

Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH -$2,455

Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH -$4,673
= Average nonresident tuition, less fees $13,962

= Base Texas nonresident tuition per credit hour $13,962/30 SCH) $ 465

To the base nonresident tuition, each institution should add designated tuition and (when
appropriate) board-authorized graduate tuition to compute total nonresident tuition.

Nonresident tuition = $465 per SCH + (Designated Tuition)
+ (Board-authorized Graduate Tuition)



Section 54.051(d) of the Texas Education Code provides:

Unless a different rate is specified by this section, tuition for a nonresident student at a general
academic teaching institution or medical and dental unit is an amount per semester credit hour
equal to the average of the nonresident undergraduate tuition charged to a resident of this
state at a public state university in each of the five most populous states other than this state,
as computed by the coordinating board under this section. The coordinating board shall set the
tuition rate provided by this subsection for each academic year and report that rate to each
appropriate institution not later than January 1 of the calendar year in which the academic year
begins, or as soon after the January 1 date as practicable. In computing the tuition rate, the
coordinating board shall use the nonresident tuition rates for the other states in effect for the
academic year in progress when the board makes the computation.



