

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Levi D. McClenny STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Cody C. Campbell Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.highered.texas.gov

Mr. Tex Buckhaults, President
Clarendon College
1122 College Drive
PO Box 968
Clarendon, TX 79226
RE: A Compliance Monitoring Follow Up Review of the Nursing Shortage Reduction Program at Clarendon College
Dear Mr. Buckhaults:

Clarendon College implemented the recommendation in our prior report, *A Compliance Monitoring Audit of the Nursing Shortage Reduction Program at Clarendon College* (THECB-CM-FA-19-014), which was issued in November 2019.

Management implemented the recommendation by:

• Updating their policies and procedures to provide that Nursing Shortage Reduction Program awards are separated by award type, program, and by year, to maintain compliance with Texas Administrative Code, Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 22, Subchapter S, Section §22.508 and with program requirements and standards.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,

January 11, 2021

Mark A. Poehl

Mark. A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE Assistant Commissioner, Internal Audit and Compliance

1

PERFORMED BY:

Ms. Elizabeth M. Steele, Compliance Specialist

cc:

THECB Board Members

Commissioner's Office

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher EducationMr. Rey Rodriguez, Deputy Commissioner and Chief of StaffMs. Lori Fey, Deputy Commissioner, Data Analytics and InnovationMr. Ray Martinez, Deputy Commissioner, Academic Affairs and Workforce EducationMs. Nichole Bunker-Henderson, General Counsel

Strategic Planning and Funding

Ms. Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner

Clarendon College

Mr. Brad Vanden Boogaard, Vice President of Academic Affairs Dr. Mike Davis, Dean of Pampa Center & Career and Technical Education Mr. Tommy Waldrop, Chairman, Board of Regents

Texas Association of Community Colleges

Mr. Jacob Fraire, President

State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Ms. Sarah Hicks, Director of Budget and Policy

Legislative Budget Board

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director