

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

- P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Levi D. McClenny STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Cody C. Campbell Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site:

http://www.highered.texas.gov

July 20, 2020

Dr. Michael Tidwell, President The University of Texas at Tyler 3900 University Blvd. Tyler, Texas 75799

RE: A Compliance Monitoring Desk Review of Formula Funding at The University of Texas at Tyler (UT Tyler)

Dear Dr. Tidwell,

The University of Texas at Tyler (UT Tyler) complied with relevant Coordinating Board rules and regulations for enrollment data used for formula funding and with Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, Subchapter F in the areas of student semester credit hour eligibility, tuition payment, and enrollment.

Summary

Our review included tests of relevant enrollment data reported and certified by UT Tyler for accuracy and completeness in accordance with Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, Subchapter F.

Our desk review focused on the following enrollment data and time periods:

- Semester Credit Hours and Tuition Payments for CBM001 (Student Report) during summer 2018, fall 2018, and spring 2019; and
- Enrollment for CBM004 (Class Report) during summer 2018, fall 2018, and spring 2019.

Our work included procedures to verify:

- Reported semester credit hours were eligible for formula funding
- Student tuition payments were received in accordance with requirements; and
- Reported enrollment was eligible for formula funding.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments on the conduct of this review, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE

Mark A. Poehl

Assistant Commissioner, Internal Audit and Compliance

PERFORMED BY:

Ms. Shebah Spears, Compliance Specialist Ms. Carol Conner, CFE, Compliance Specialist

cc:

THECB

Board Members

Commissioner's Office

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education

Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Deputy Commissioner and Chief of Staff

Ms. Lori Fey, Deputy Commissioner, Data Analytics and Innovation

Mr. William Franz, General Counsel

Ms. Nichole Bunker-Henderson, General Counsel

Strategic Planning and Funding

Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner

Ms. Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner

The University of Texas at Tyler

Ms. Lou Ann Viergever, Executive Director of Audit and Consulting Services

Dr. Amir Mirmiran, Provost and VP for Academic Affairs

Dr. Kimberly Laird, VP for Budget and Finance, Chief Financial Officer

Dr. Sherri Whatley, VP for Technology, Chief Information Officer

Mr. David Barron, Associate VP of University Enrollment Management

Ms. Cindy Strawn, Director of Institutional Analysis

Dr. Sam Carrell, Associate Registrar

The University of Texas System

Mr. Kevin P. Eltife, Chairman of the Board

Mr. James B. Milliken, Chancellor

Mr. Michael "Mike" Peppers, Chief Audit Executive

Texas Council of Public University Presidents and Chancellors

Dr. Rissa McGuire, Executive Director

State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Ms. Sarah Hicks, Budget and Policy Director

Legislative Budget Board

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director