

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Levi D. McClenny STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Cody C. Campbell Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.highered.texas.gov January 22, 2021

Dr. Glendon Forgey, President Frank Phillips College 1301 Roosevelt Street Borger, Texas 79007

RE: A Compliance Monitoring Desk Review of Formula Funding at Frank Phillips College

Dear Dr. Forgey,

Frank Phillips College complied with relevant Coordinating Board rules and regulations for enrollment data used for formula funding and with Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, Subchapter F in the areas of student contact hour eligibility, tuition payment, and enrollment.

Summary

Our review included tests of relevant enrollment data reported and certified by Frank Phillips College for accuracy and completeness in accordance with Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, Subchapter F.

Our desk review focused on the following enrollment data and time periods:

- Contact Hours and Tuition Payments for CBM001 (Student Report) during summer 2019, fall 2019, and spring 2020;
- Enrollment for CBM004 (Class Report) during summer 2019, fall 2019, and spring 2020; and
- Enrollment for CBM00C (Continuing Education Class Report) during summer 2019, fall 2019, and spring 2020.

Our work included procedures to verify:

- Reported contact hours were eligible for formula funding;
- Student tuition payments were received in accordance with requirements; and
- Reported enrollment was eligible for formula funding.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments on the conduct of this review, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Wark A. Poebl

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE Assistant Commissioner, Internal Audit and Compliance

January 2021

PERFORMED BY:

Ms. Shebah Washington, Compliance Specialist

cc:

THECB

Board Members

Commissioner's Office

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education

Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Deputy Commissioner and Chief of Staff

Ms. Lori Fey, Deputy Commissioner, Data Analytics and Innovation

Mr. Ray Martinez, Deputy Commissioner, Academic Affairs and Worforce Education

Ms. Nichole Bunker-Henderson, General Counsel

Strategic Planning and Funding

Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner, Strategic Planning

Ms. Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner, Funding

Frank Phillips College

Mr. Scott Radach, Chair, Board of Regents

Mr. Jud Hicks, Former President

Ms. Michele Stevens, Director of Enrollment Management

Dr. Shannon Carroll, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Ms. Terry Langwell, Chief Financial Officer

Ms. Patty Kasch, IT Service Manager

Ms. Jackie Brand, Director for Special Projects

Texas Association of Community Colleges

Mr. Jacob Fraire, President and Chief Executive Officer

State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Ms. Sarah Hicks, Budget and Policy Director

Legislative Budget Board

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director