

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Lauren C. McKenzie STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Cody C. Campbell Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site:

http://www.thecb.state.tx.us

December 13, 2019

Dr. Mark A. Hussey, President Texas A&M University-Kingsville 700 University Blvd. Kingsville, TX 78363

RE: A Follow Up of Formula Funding at Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Dear Dr. Hussey:

Texas A&M University-Kingsville implemented the recommendation in our prior report, *A Compliance Monitoring Desk Review of Formula Funding at Texas A&M University-Kingsville (THECB-CM-FF-19-006)*, which was issued in June 2019.

Management implemented the recommendation by:

 Strengthening oversight of student information security, complying with Texas Administrative Code §202.76, and complying with Department of Information Resources security standards.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark. A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE

Wark A. Poehl

Director, Internal Audit and Compliance

PERFORMED BY:

Ms. Elizabeth M. Steele, Compliance Specialist

cc:

THECB

Board Members

Commissioner's Office

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education

Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Transition Chief of Staff

Ms. Linda Battles, Deputy Commissioner for Agency Operations and Communications/COO

Dr. David Gardner, Deputy Commissioner for Academic Planning and Policy

Mr. William Franz, General Counsel

Strategic Planning and Funding

Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner

Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Mr. Jacob W. Flournoy, Vice President for Finance and CFO

Mr. Robert Paulson, Associate Vice President of Information Technology/CIO

Mr. J. Randy Hughes, Chief of Staff

Dr. Jaya Goswami, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Texas A&M University System

Ms. Elaine Mendoza, Chairman, Board of Regents

Mr. John Sharp, Chancellor

Mr. Charlie Hrncir, CPA, Chief Auditor

Texas Council of Public University Presidents and Chancellors

Dr. Rissa McGuire, Executive Director

State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Mr. John Colyandro, Policy Director

Legislative Budget Board

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director