

# TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

VICE CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D.

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Lauren C. McKenzie STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Cody C. Campbell Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.thecb.state.tx.us January 21, 2020

Dr. Michael J. Simon President Angelina College 3500 S 1st St. Lufkin, TX 75904

RE: Audit of the Texas Educational Opportunity Grant at Angelina College

Dear Dr. Simon,

The purpose of this letter is to inform you that we will not be performing our planned fiscal year 2020 audit of the Texas Educational Opportunity Grant at Angelina College.

A single audit finding for year ended 2018 covered aspects of the Texas Educational Opportunity Grant administration.

To ensure coordination of the effort, our Compliance Monitoring engagement will be conducted at a future time.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me or Ms. Steele at (512) 427-6418.

Regards,

Mark A. Poehl

Mark. A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE Director, Internal Audit and Compliance

1

## **PERFORMED BY:**

Ms. Elizabeth M. Steele, Compliance Specialist Ms. Carol Conner, Compliance Specialist

cc:

## <u>THECB</u> Board Members

#### **Commissioner's Office**

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. David Gardner, Deputy Commissioner for Academic Planning and Policy Mr. William Franz, General Counsel

#### **Financial Services**

Mr. Kenneth Martin, Assistant Commissioner for Financial Services/CFO

### Angelina College

Dr. Sidney J. Roberts, Chair, Board of Trustees Mr. Chris Sullivan, Vice President of Business Affairs and In-House Counsel Mr. Glenn Goforth, Director of Student Financial Aid

### **Texas Association of Community Colleges**

Mr. Jacob Fraire, President

# **State Auditor's Office**

Internal Audit Coordinator

### **Sunset Advisory Commission**

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

### Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Mr. John Colyandro, Policy Director

### Legislative Budget Board

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director