

May 12, 2022

Dr. Jason Smith, President Texarkana College 2500 N. Robison Rd. Texarkana, TX 75599

Re: A Compliance Monitoring Follow Up Review of the Texas Educational Opportunity Grant at Texarkana College, Report No. THECB-CM-FA-21-026F

Dear Dr. Smith,

Texarkana College implemented the recommendations from our prior report A Compliance Monitoring Desk Review of the Texas Educational Opportunity Grant at Texarkana College, Report No. THECB-CM-FA-21-026, issued July 27, 2021.

Management has implemented the desk review recommendations by:

- Refunding \$1,227 in ineligible Texas Educational Opportunity Grant awards to the Texas Higher Educational Coordinating Board; and
- Strengthening grant awarding processes and controls over student eligibility related to residency, in accordance with Texas Administrative Code, Sections 22.253-265.

This Compliance Monitoring report will be presented to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) Committee on Agency Operations, a standing committee of the THECB Board, in July 2022.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments on the conduct of this review, please let me know.

Sincerely,
Wark A. Pachl

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE

Assistant Commissioner, Internal Audit and Compliance



PERFORMED BY:

Ms. Elizabeth Steele, Compliance Specialist

cc:

THECB

Board Members

Commissioner's Office

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education

Ms. Lizette Montiel, Deputy Chief of Staff

Ms. Lori Fey, Deputy Commissioner, Data Analytics and Innovation

Dr. Ray Martinez, Deputy Commissioner, Academic Affairs and Workforce Education

Mr. Ken Martin, Chief Operating Officer / Chief Financial Officer

Ms. Nichole Bunker-Henderson, General Counsel

Ms. Sarah Keyton, Associate Commissioner for Administration

Student Financial Aid Programs

Dr. Charles W. Contéro-Puls, Assistant Commissioner

Ms. DeCha Reid, Senior Director

Texarkana College

Ms. Kaye Ellison, President, Board of Trustees

Dr. Donna McDaniel, Vice President of Instruction

Ms. Kimberly Jones, Vice President of Finance

Ms. Phyllis Deese, Vice President of Administrative Services/Human Services

Ms. Susan Johnston, Director of Financial Aid

Mr. Robert Hoover, Controller

Texas Association of Community Colleges

Mr. Jacob Fraire, President and Chief Executive Officer

State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Ms. Sarah Hicks, Budget and Policy Director

<u>Legislative Budget Board</u>

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director