

# TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Lauren C. McKenzie STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Emma W. Schwartz Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.thecb.state.tx.us November 20, 2019

Ms. Betty McCrohan, President Wharton County Junior College 911 Boling Highway Wharton, Texas 77488

Dear Ms. McCrohan:

I am attaching the results of the follow up review regarding the implementation of information security controls over student enrollment at Wharton County Junior College (WCJC).

WCJC implemented the recommendation in our prior report *A Compliance Desk Review of Formula Funding at Wharton County Junior College,* issued November 27, 2018.

Management has implemented the recommendation by:

 Capturing and retaining student information system audit logs or change history for the critical data used for formula funding.

We appreciate the cooperation of your staff during this engagement. If you have any questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE Director, Internal Audit and Compliance

Wark A. Poehl

#### **PERFORMED BY:**

Ms. Jamyen Robinson-Hall, Compliance Specialist

cc:

# **THECB**

#### **Board Members**

## **Commissioner's Office**

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education

Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Transition Chief of Staff

Ms. Linda Battles, Deputy Commissioner for Agency Operations and Communications/COO

Dr. David Gardner, Deputy Commissioner for Academic Planning and Policy

Mr. William Franz, General Counsel

# Strategic Planning and Funding

Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner

## **Wharton County Junior College**

Mr. P.D. (Danny) Gertson, Chair, Board of Trustees

Dr. Amanda Allen, Vice President of Planning and Institutional Effectiveness

Ms. Tessa Mathews, Director of Institutional Research

Ms. Pam Youngblood, Vice President of Technology

# **Texas Association of Community Colleges**

Mr. Jacob Fraire, President and Chief Executive Officer

#### **State Auditor's Office**

**Internal Audit Coordinator** 

## **Sunset Advisory Commission**

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

#### Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Mr. John Colyandro, Policy Director

## **Legislative Budget Board**

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director