

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Lauren C. McKenzie STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Cody C. Campbell Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.thecb.state.tx.us December 5, 2019

Dr. Tod Allen Farmer President Weatherford College 225 College Park Drive Weatherford, Texas 76086

Dear Dr. Farmer,

Weatherford College implemented recommendations in our prior report *A Compliance Monitoring Audit of Formula Funding at Weatherford College,* issued April 13, 2016.

Management has implemented the audit recommendations by:

- Complying with statutory and rule limitations regarding immediate employability and paid tuition for continuing education contact hours reported for formula funding.
- Enhancing controls over access to educational records, in particular user access permission, to comply with 34 CFR § 99.91, Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) and align with the best practices of Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §§ 202.70 - 202.76 to better protect registration information and other student data from unauthorized use.

We appreciate the cooperation of your staff during this engagement. If you have any questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark A. Poehl

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE Director, Internal Audit and Compliance

1

PERFORMED BY:

Ms. Carol Conner, Compliance Specialist

cc:

THECB Board Members

Commissioner's Office

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education

- Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Transition Chief of Staff
- Ms. Linda Battles, Deputy Commissioner for Agency Operations and Communications/COO
- Dr. David Gardner, Deputy Commissioner for Academic Planning and Policy
- Mr. William Franz, General Counsel

Strategic Planning and Funding

Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner

Weatherford College

Mr. Mac Smith, Chair, Board of Trustees Dr. Arleen Atkins, Dean of Institutional Effectiveness Mr. Michael Endy, Vice President of Instruction and Student Services

Texas Association of Community Colleges

Mr. Jacob Fraire, President and Chief Executive Officer

State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Mr. John Colyandro, Policy Director

Legislative Budget Board

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director