

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Lauren C. McKenzie STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Emma W. Schwartz Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.thecb.state.tx.us November 20, 2019

Dr. Shirley A. Reed, President South Texas College P.O. Box 9701 McAllen, Texas 78502

Dear Dr. Reed:

South Texas College implemented the recommendations in the prior report *An Audit of Formula Funding at South Texas College*, issued July 7, 2016.

Management has implemented the recommendations by:

- Adjusting policies and procedures in accordance with Texas Education Code's statutory change (§130.303) effective September 1, 2017; and
- Complying with relevant statutes and Coordinating Board (THECB) rules for enrollment data used for formula funding, in the area of continuing education contact hour reporting.

We appreciate the cooperation of your staff during this engagement. If you have any questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE Director, Internal Audit and Compliance

Mark A. Packl

PERFORMED BY:

Ms. Jamyen Robinson-Hall, Compliance Specialist

cc:

THECB

Board Members

Commissioner's Office

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education

Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Transition Chief of Staff

Ms. Linda Battles, Deputy Commissioner for Agency Operations and Communications/COO

Dr. David Gardner, Deputy Commissioner for Academic Planning and Policy Communications

Mr. William Franz, General Counsel

Strategic Planning and Funding

Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner, Strategic Planning and Funding

South Texas College

Mr. Paul R. Rodriguez, Chairman, Board of Trustees

Ms. Olivia D. De La Rosa, Director of Professional and Workforce Education

Mr. Khalil Abdullah, Internal Auditor

Texas Association of Community Colleges

Mr. Jacob Fraire, President and Chief Executive Officer

State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Mr. John Colyandro, Policy Director

Legislative Budget Board

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director