

# TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Lauren C. McKenzie STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Cody C. Campbell Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site:

http://www.thecb.state.tx.us

December 11, 2019

Dr. Juan E. Mejia, President Tyler Junior College 1327 South Baxter Avenue Tyler, TX 75701

RE: A Follow Up of Formula Funding at Tyler Junior College

Dear Dr. Mejia:

Tyler Junior College implemented the recommendations in our prior report, *A Compliance Monitoring Audit of Formula Funding at Tyler Junior College (THECB-CM-FF-16-005)*, which was issued in December 2016.

Management implemented the recommendations by:

- Complying with statutory and rule limitations regarding immediate employability and paid tuition for continuing education contact hours reported for formula funding;
- Improving internal controls to ensure that the amounts reported on the Class Report (CBM004) are correct and supported by appropriate documentation; and
- Enhancing controls over access to educational records, in particular establishing and implementing policies and procedures and user access permission controls to comply with 34 CFR §99.31 (FERPA) and aligning with the best practices of TAC §§202.70-202.76 to better protect registration information and other student data from unauthorized use.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark. A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE Director, Internal Audit and Compliance

Wark A. Poehl

#### **PERFORMED BY:**

Ms. Elizabeth M. Steele, Compliance Specialist

cc:

### **THECB**

#### **Board Members**

#### **Commissioner's Office**

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education

Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Transition Chief of Staff

Ms. Linda Battles, Deputy Commissioner for Agency Operations and Communications/COO

Dr. David Gardner, Deputy Commissioner for Academic Planning and Policy

Mr. William Franz, General Counsel

# **Strategic Planning and Funding**

Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner

# **Tyler Junior College**

Ms. Kimberly Lessner, Vice President of Marketing and Enrollment Services/CCO

Ms. Britt Sabota, Registrar

Dr. Deana Sheppard, Provost & Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs

Mr. Mike Coker, President, Board of Trustees

# **Texas Association of Community Colleges**

Mr. Jacob Fraire, President

## **State Auditor's Office**

Internal Audit Coordinator

#### **Sunset Advisory Commission**

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

#### Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Mr. John Colyandro, Policy Director

## **Legislative Budget Board**

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director