

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Lauren C. McKenzie STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Cody C. Campbell Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.thecb.state.tx.us

# TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

May 18, 2020

Dr. Richard Rhodes, President and CEO Austin Community College 5930 Middle Fiskville Road Austin, TX 78752

Dear Dr. Rhodes,

I am attaching the final report on *A Compliance Monitoring Desk Review of Texas Educational Opportunity Grant at Austin Community College,* Report No. THECB-CM-FA-20-024. There were no reportable observations resulting from this engagement.

Austin Community College (ACC) complied with relevant Coordinating Board (THECB) rules and regulations for the Texas Educational Opportunity Grant (TEOG) and with the Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §22.253 through 22.263.

## **Summary**

Our desk review included tests of relevant financial data reported and certified by ACC for award year 2018-2019. We believe the evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis for the reportable observations and recommendations, if any, based on the desk review objectives.

Our work included procedures to verify:

- Students met all eligibility criteria, including SAP requirements;
- Students demonstrated financial need;
- Students fulfilled residency requirements;
- Applicable students registered with the selective service system; and
- Reported award amounts reconciled with Austin Community College's student data system and payment records.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments on the conduct of this engagement, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE Director, Internal Audit and Compliance

Wark A. Pools

## **PERFORMED BY:**

Ms. Jamyen Robinson-Hall, Compliance Specialist

cc:

#### **THECB**

## **Board Members**

## **Commissioner's Office**

- Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education
- Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Deputy Commissioner and Chief of Staff
- Mr. William Franz, General Counsel
- Mr. Ken Martin, Assistant Commissioner for Financial Services and Chief Financial Officer

# **Student Financial Aid Programs**

Dr. Charles W. Contéro-Puls, Deputy Assistant Commissioner

# **Austin Community College**

- Ms. Gigi Edwards Bryant, Chair, Board of Trustees
- Dr. Melissa Curtis, Associate Vice President, Enrollment Management
- Mr. Jason Briseno, Executive Director, Student Assistance & Veterans Affairs, Financial Aid

## **Texas Association of Community Colleges**

Mr. Jacob Fraire, President and Chief Executive Officer

## **State Auditor's Office**

**Internal Audit Coordinator** 

## **Sunset Advisory Commission**

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

## Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Ms. Sarah Hicks, Budget and Policy Director

#### **Legislative Budget Board**

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director