

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Lauren C. McKenzie STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Cody C. Campbell Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site:

http://www.thecb.state.tx.us

January 17, 2020

Dr. Suzanne Shipley, President Midwestern State University 3410 Taft Blvd. Wichita Falls, Texas 76308

RE: Desk Review of Formula Funding at Midwestern State University

Dear Dr. Shipley,

Midwestern State University complied with relevant Coordinating Board rules and regulations for enrollment data used for formula funding and with Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Title 19, Section 13.100, in the areas of student semester credit hour eligibility, tuition payment, and enrollment.

Summary

Our review included tests of relevant enrollment data reported and certified by Midwestern State University for accuracy and completeness in accordance with TAC, Section 13. Our desk review focused on the following enrollment data and time periods:

- Semester Credit Hours and Tuition Payments for CBM001 (Student Report) during summer 2018, fall 2018, and spring 2019; and
- Enrollment for CBM004 (Class Report) during summer 2018, fall 2018, and spring 2019.

Our work included procedures to verify:

- Reported semester credit hours were eligible for formula funding;
- Student tuition payments were received in accordance with requirements; and
- Reported enrollment was eligible for formula funding.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments on the conduct of this review, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE Director, Internal Audit and Compliance

Wark A. Poehl

PERFORMED BY:

Ms. Jamyen Robinson-Hall, Compliance Specialist

Ms. Shebah Spears, Compliance Specialist

cc:

THECB

Board Members

Commissioner's Office

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education

Dr. David Gardner, Deputy Commissioner for Academic Planning and Policy

Mr. William Franz, General Counsel

Strategic Planning and Funding

Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner

Midwestern State University

Mr. R. Craven Crosnoe, Chairman, Board of Regents

Ms. Tiffany Burks, Board of Regents' Audit, Compliance and Management Committee Chair

Mr. Fred Dietz, Vice President of Enrollment Management

Ms. Leigh Kidwell, Chief Audit Executive

Dr. Beth Reissenweber, Vice President of Finance and Administration

Texas Council of Public University Presidents and Chancellors

Dr. Rissa McGuire, Executive Director

State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Mr. John Colyandro, Policy Director

Legislative Budget Board

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director