

Fred Farias III, O.D. CHAIR

Donna N. Williams VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Matthew B. Smith STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.highered.texas.gov

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

August 10, 2021

Dr. William Serrata, President El Paso Community College 9050 Viscount Blvd El Paso, TX 79925

Dear Dr. Serrata,

I am attaching the final report on *A Compliance Monitoring Desk Review of the Texas Educational Opportunity Grant at El Paso Community College,* Report No. THECB-CM-FA-21-021. There were no findings resulting from this engagement.

El Paso Community College complied with relevant Coordinating Board (THECB) rules and regulations for the Texas Educational Opportunity Grant (TEOG) and with the Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 22, Subchapter M.

Summary

Our desk review included tests of relevant financial data reported and certified by El Paso Community College for award year 2019-2020. We believe the evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis for the reportable observations and recommendations, if any, based on the desk review objectives.

Our work included procedures to verify:

- Students met all eligibility criteria, including SAP requirements;
- Students demonstrated financial need;
- Students fulfilled residency requirements;
- Applicable students registered with the selective service system; and
- Reported award amounts reconciled with El Paso Community College's student data system and payment records.

This Compliance Monitoring report will be presented to the THECB Committee on Agency Operations, a standing committee of the THECB Board, in October 2021.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments on the conduct of this engagement, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark A. Poeld

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE Assistant Commissioner, Internal Audit and Compliance

1

PERFORMED BY:

Ms. Shebah Washington, Compliance Specialist

CC:

THECB Board Members

Commissioner's Office

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Deputy Commissioner and Chief of Staff Ms. Nichole Bunker-Henderson, General Counsel Mr. Ken Martin, Assistant Commissioner for Financial Services & Chief Financial Officer

Student Financial Aid Programs

Dr. Charles W. Contéro-Puls, Assistant Commissioner

El Paso Community College

Mr. Brian Haggerty, Chair, Board of Trustees Dr. Carlos Amaya, Interim Vice President, Student and Enrollment Services Dr. Jenny Giron, Vice President, Chief Information Officer, Information Technology Dr. Cassandra Lachica-Chavez, Registrar and Executive Director, Admissions Ms. Ines Lopez, Executive Director of Financial Aid Ms. Ana Zuniga, Comptroller Mr. Abraham Hubail, Executive Director of Information Technology

Texas Association of Community Colleges

Mr. Jacob Fraire, President

State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Ms. Sarah Hicks, Budget and Policy Director

Legislative Budget Board

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director