

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

__ P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Fred Farias III, O.D.

Donna N. Williams VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Matthew B. Smith STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.highered.texas.gov August 10, 2021

Dr. H. Neil Matkin, District President Collin College 3452 Spur 399 McKinney, Texas 75069

Dear Dr. Matkin,

I am attaching the final report on *A Compliance Monitoring Desk Review of the Texas Educational Opportunity Grant at Collin College,* Report No. THECB-CM-FA-21-023. There were no findings resulting from this engagement.

Collin College complied with relevant Coordinating Board (THECB) rules and regulations for the Texas Educational Opportunity Grant (TEOG) and with the Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 22, Subchapter M.

Summary

Our desk review included tests of relevant financial data reported and certified by Collin College for award year 2019-2020. We believe the evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis for the reportable observations and recommendations, if any, based on the desk review objectives.

Our work included procedures to verify:

- Students met all eligibility criteria, including SAP requirements;
- Students demonstrated financial need;
- Students fulfilled residency requirements;
- Applicable students registered with the selective service system; and
- Reported award amounts reconciled with Collin College's student data system and payment records.

This Compliance Monitoring report will be presented to the THECB Committee on Agency Operations, a standing committee of the THECB Board, in October 2021.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments on the conduct of this engagement, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE

Wark A. Poehl

Assistant Commissioner, Internal Audit and Compliance

PERFORMED BY:

Mr. Bobby Lane, CFE, CICA, Compliance Specialist

cc:

THECB

Board Members

Commissioner's Office

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education

Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Deputy Commissioner and Chief of Staff

Ms. Nichole Bunker-Henderson, General Counsel

Mr. Ken Martin, Assistant Commissioner for Financial Services and Chief Financial Officer

Student Financial Aid Programs

Dr. Charles W. Contéro-Puls, Assistant Commissioner

Collin College

Mr. Andrew Hardin, Chair, Board of Trustees

Ms. Julie M. Bradley, Assistant Vice President Controller/Student Financial Services

Mr. Alan Pixley, Director, Financial Aid/Veterans Affairs

Mr. Ali Subhani, CIA, CISA, GSNA, Director, Internal Audit

Texas Association of Community Colleges

Mr. Jacob Fraire, President

State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Ms. Sarah Hicks, Budget and Policy Director

Legislative Budget Board

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director