

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION **COORDINATING BOARD**

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Fred Farias III, O.D. CHAIR

Donna N. Williams VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SEČRETARY OF THE BOARD

Matthew B. Smith STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller Ph D COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.highered.texas.gov June 10, 2021

Dr. Michael J. Simon, President Angelina College 3500 South First Street Lufkin, TX 75901

Dear Dr. Simon,

I am attaching the final report on A Compliance Monitoring Desk Review of the Texas Educational Opportunity Grant at Angelina College, Report No. THECB-CM-FA-21-022. There were no reportable findings resulting from this engagement.

Angelina College complied with relevant Coordinating Board (THECB) rules and regulations for the Texas Educational Opportunity Grant and with Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 22, Subchapter M, §22.253-22.265.

Summary

Our desk review included tests of relevant financial data reported and certified by Angelina College for award year 2019-2020. We believe the evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis for the findings and recommendations, if any, based on the desk review objectives.

Our work included procedures to verify:

- Students met all eligibility criteria, including SAP requirements;
- Students demonstrated financial need:
- Students fulfilled residency requirements;
- Applicable students registered with the selective service system; and
- Reported award amounts reconciled with Angelina College's student data system and payment records.

This Compliance Monitoring report will be presented to the THECB Committee on Agency Operations, a standing committee of the THECB Board, in October 2021.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments on the conduct of this engagement, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE

Assistant Commissioner, Internal Audit and Compliance

PERFORMED BY:

Ms. Elizabeth M. Steele, Compliance Specialist

cc:

THECB

Board Members

Commissioner's Office

- Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education
- Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Deputy Commissioner and Chief of Staff
- Mr. Ray Martinez, Deputy Commissioner, Academic Affairs and Workforce Education
- Ms. Nichole Bunker-Henderson, General Counsel
- Mr. Ken Martin, Assistant Commissioner for Financial Services & Chief Financial Officer

Student Financial Aid Programs

Dr. Charles W. Contéro-Puls, Assistant Commissioner

Angelina College

- Mrs. Hilary Haglund Walker, President, Board of Trustees
- Mr. Glenn Goforth, Director of Student Financial Aid
- Mr. Chris Sullivan, Vice President of Business Affairs and In-House Counsel
- Mr. Ken Street, Senior Director of Information Technology
- Ms. Krista Brown, Executive Director of Marketing and Strategic Enrollment
- Ms. Melissa Goins, Controller

Texas Association of Community Colleges

Mr. Jacob Fraire, President

State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Ms. Sarah Hicks, Budget and Policy Director

Legislative Budget Board

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director

June 2021