

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Levi D. McClenny STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Cody C. Campbell Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site:

http://www.highered.texas.gov

April 16, 2021

Dr. Lonnie L. Howard, President Lamar Institute of Technology PO Box 10043 Beaumont, Texas 77710

Dear Dr. Howard,

Lamar Institute of Technology complied with relevant Coordinating Board rules and regulations for enrollment data used for formula funding and with Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, in the areas of contact hour eligibility, tuition payments, and enrollments.

Summary

Our review included tests of relevant enrollment data reported and certified by Lamar Institute of Technology for accuracy and completeness in accordance with TAC, Chapter 13. Our desk review focused on the following enrollment data and time periods:

- Semester Credit Hours and Tuition Payments for CBM001 (Student Report) during summer semester 2019, fall semester 2019, and spring semester 2020;
- Contact Hours and Enrollment for CBM004 (Class Report) during summer semester 2019, fall semester 2019, and spring semester 2020; and
- Contact Hours and Enrollment for CBM00C (Continuing Education Class Report) during summer semester 2019, fall semester 2019, and spring semester 2020.

Our work included procedures to verify:

- Student tuition payment was received in accordance with requirements;
- Reported contact hours were eligible for formula funding; and
- Reported enrollment was eligible for formula funding.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments on the conduct of this review, please let me know

Sincerely,

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE

Wark A. Poehl

Assistant Commissioner, Internal Audit and Compliance

PERFORMED BY:

Mr. Bobby Lane, CFE, CICA, Compliance Specialist

cc:

THECB Board Members

Commissioner's Office

Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education

Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Deputy Commissioner and Chief of Staff

Ms. Lori Fey, Deputy Commissioner, Data Analytics and Innovation

Mr. Ray Martinez, Deputy Commissioner, Academic Affairs and Workforce Education

Ms. Nichole Bunker-Henderson, General Counsel

Data Analytics and Innovation

Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner, Strategic Planning

Ms. Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner, Funding

Lamar Institute of Technology

Dr. Kerry Mix, Vice President/Provost

Mr. David P. Mosley, Vice President for Strategic Initiatives

Mr. David Short, Registrar

Mrs. Christine Marsh, Coordinator of Institutional Effectiveness/Reporting Official

The Texas State University System

Mr. Charlie Amato, Chairman, TSUS Board of Regents

Dr. Brian McCall, Ph.D., Chancellor

Ms. Carole M. Fox, C.P.A., TSUS Chief Audit Executive

Ms. Ramona Stricklan, CIA, CFE, Director, Office of Internal Audit. Lamar Components

Texas Council of Public University Presidents and Chancellors

Dr. Rissa McGuire, Executive Director

State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Ms. Sarah Hicks, Budget and Policy Director

Legislative Budget Board

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director