

# TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

Ricky A. Raven SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Levi D. McClenny STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Cody C. Campbell Emma W. Schwartz R. Sam Torn Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site:

http://www.highered.texas.gov

December 4, 2020

Dr. Christy Ponce, President Temple College 2600 S. 1st Street Temple, Texas 76504

Dear Dr. Ponce,

Temple College implemented the recommendation in our prior report *A Compliance Monitoring Desk Review of Formula Funding at Temple College,* issued May 29, 2020.

Management has implemented the audit recommendation by:

 Capturing and retaining student information system audit logs or change history for the critical data used for formula funding.

We appreciate the cooperation of your staff during this engagement. If you have any questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE

Wark A. Poehl

Assistant Commissioner, Internal Audit and Compliance

### **PERFORMED BY:**

Ms. Carol Conner, CFE, Compliance Specialist

cc:

#### **THECB**

### **Board Members**

## **Commissioner's Office**

- Dr. Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education
- Mr. Rey Rodriguez, Deputy Commissioner and Chief of Staff
- Ms. Lori Fey, Deputy Commissioner, Data Analytics and Innovation
- Mr. Ray Martinez, Deputy Commissioner, Academic Affairs and Workforce Education
- Ms. Nichole Bunker-Henderson, General Counsel

# **Strategic Planning and Funding**

- Ms. Emily Cormier, Assistant Commissioner
- Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner

# **Temple College**

- Mr. Bob Browder, Chair, Board of Trustees
- Mr. Brandon Bozon, Vice President, Administrative Services and Chief Financial Officer
- Ms. Carey Rose, Division Director, Student and Enrollment Services
- Mr. Shawn Dach, Division Director, Information Systems

## **Texas Association of Community Colleges**

Mr. Jacob Fraire, President and Chief Executive Officer

## **State Auditor's Office**

Internal Audit Coordinator

## **Sunset Advisory Commission**

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

## Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Ms. Sarah Hicks, Director of Budget and Policy

## **Legislative Budget Board**

Mr. Christopher Mattsson, Assistant Director