

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

John T. Steen, Jr. SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Michelle Q. Tran STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

S. Javaid Anwar Michael J. Plank Ricky A. Raven Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Raymund A. Paredes COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.thecb.state.tx.us May 7, 2019

Dr. Kelly M. Quintanilla President/CEO Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi 6300 Ocean Dr. Corpus Christi, Texas 78412

RE: Desk Review of Formula Funding at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Dear Dr. Quintanilla,

Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi complied with relevant Coordinating Board rules and regulations for enrollment data used for formula funding and with Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Title 19, Part 1, Chapter 13, in the areas of student semester credit hour eligibility, tuition payment, and enrollment with no reportable conditions resulting from this engagement.

#### Summary

Our review included tests of relevant enrollment data reported and certified by Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi for accuracy and completeness in accordance with TAC, Chapter 13. Our desk review focused on the following enrollment data and time periods:

- Semester Credit Hours and Tuition Payments for CBM001 (Student Report) during summer 2017, fall 2017, and spring 2018; and
- Enrollment for CBM004 (Class Report) during summer 2017, fall 2017, and spring 2018.

Our work included procedures to verify:

- Reported semester credit hours were eligible for formula funding;
- Student tuition payment was received in accordance with requirements; and
- Reported enrollment was eligible for formula funding.

The cooperation of your staff during this review is greatly appreciated. If you have any questions or comments on the conduct of this review, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark A. Poehl

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE Director, Internal Audit and Compliance

1

## **PERFORMED BY:**

Ms. Carol Conner, Compliance Specialist

cc:

# THECB Board Members

## **Commissioner's Office**

- Dr. Raymund A. Paredes, Commissioner of Higher Education
- Dr. David Gardner, Deputy Commissioner for Academic Planning and Policy
- Ms. Linda Battles, Deputy Commissioner for Agency Operations and Communications/COO
- Mr. William Franz, General Counsel

# **Strategic Planning and Funding**

Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner for Strategic Planning and Funding

## Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

- Dr. Katie Bontrager, Senior Associate Vice President, Planning, Institutional Research and Special Projects (Enrollment Management)
- Dr. Michelle Singh Durán, Associate Vice President, Teaching and Learning Technologies, Division of Information Technology

# **Texas A&M University System**

- Mr. Charles W. Schwartz, Chairman, Board of Regents
- Mr. John Sharp, Chancellor
- Mr. Charlie Hrncir, Chief Auditor

# **Texas Council of Public University Presidents and Chancellors**

Dr. Rissa McGuire, Executive Director

# State Auditor's Office

Internal Audit Coordinator

# Sunset Advisory Commission

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director