

# TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

John T. Steen, Jr. SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Michelle Q. Tran STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

Arcilia C. Acosta S. Javaid Anwar Michael J. Plank Ricky A. Raven Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Raymund A. Paredes COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.thecb.state.tx.us March 4, 2019

Dr. Brenda S. Kays, Ed.D. President Kilgore College 1100 Broadway Kilgore, Texas 75662-3204

Dear Dr. Kays,

Kilgore College implemented the recommendation in our prior report *A Compliance Monitoring Audit of Formula Funding at Kilgore College,* issued January 24, 2018.

Management has implemented the audit recommendation by:

 Capturing and retaining student information system audit logs or change history for the critical data used for formula funding.

We conducted this audit in accordance with generally accepted government auditing standards. Those standards require that we plan and perform the audit to obtain sufficient, appropriate evidence to provide a reasonable basis for our findings and recommendations based on our audit objectives. We believe the evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis for the findings, if any, based on the audit objectives.

If you have any questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Mark A. Poehl, CPA, CIA, CISA, CFE

Mark A. Poshl

Director, Internal Audit and Compliance

#### **PERFORMED BY:**

Ms. Carol Conner, Compliance Specialist

cc:

# THECB Board Members

## **Commissioner's Office**

Dr. Raymund Paredes, Commissioner of Higher Education

Ms. Linda Battles, Deputy Commissioner for Agency Operations and Communications

Dr. David Gardner, Deputy Commissioner for Academic Planning and Policy

Mr. William Franz, General Counsel

## Strategic Planning and Funding

Dr. Julie Eklund, Assistant Commissioner, Strategic Planning and Funding

## Kilgore College

Mr. Larry A. Woodfin, President, Board of Trustees

Mr. Chris Gore, Dean of Enrollment Management and Student Success

Mr. John Colville, Director of Information Technology

# **Texas Association of Community Colleges**

Mr. Jacob Fraire, President and Chief Executive Officer

## **State Auditor's Office**

**Internal Audit Coordinator** 

#### **Sunset Advisory Commission**

Ms. Jennifer Jones, Director

## STATUTORY DISTRIBUTION REQUIREMENT

Office of the Governor-Budget and Policy Division

Mr. John Colyandro, Policy Director

## **Legislative Budget Board**

Ms. Julie Ivie, Assistant Director