

1801 N. Congress Ave., Suite 12.200 Austin, TX 78701

Mail: PO Box 12788, Austin, TX 78711-2788

Phone: 512-427-6101 Fax: 512-427-6127

Fred Farias III, OD, MS, FAAO CHAIR

Donna N. Williams VICE CHAIR

S. Javaid Anwar SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Cage M. Sawyers STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

Richard L. Clemmer Stacy A. Hock Emma W. Schwartz Ashlie A. Thomas Welcome Wilson, Jr. Daniel O. Wong

Harrison Keller, Ph.D. COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

Memorandum

To: Texas Leadership Scholars Participating IHEs Presidents &

Chancellors

From: Harrison Keller, Ph.D.

Commissioner of Higher Education

Date: April 18, 2024

Subject: Texas Leadership Scholars Program - Cohort 3 Approved Cohort

Size

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board's (THECB) Student Success Division is pleased to announce the number of initial scholarships available to each participating institution for Cohort 3 of the Texas Leadership Scholars Program (TLS). According to Rule §22.296(c)(1), the commissioner shall determine and announce the number of initial scholarships available to each participating institution on an annual basis.

TLS is a premier scholarship initiative that grants selected students a full scholarship to attend a Texas university. Beyond financial support, recipients benefit from a peer network, mentoring, and other opportunities to unleash their full potential. The program specifically targets high-achieving students who demonstrate financial need, exhibit leadership within their high school community, and have a track record of academic success. By creating a holistic program that includes financial awards, mentoring, and cohort learning experiences, the Texas Leadership Scholars aim to bridge gaps and empower deserving students.

THECB has awarded over 500 students across 21 institutions with two successful cohorts. These dedicated Scholars have showcased remarkable outcomes and continue to demonstrate their leadership in their communities. The program is achieving an **average persistence rate of 96%** during the initial stages of the program.

As we continue to expand, we are thrilled to announce that we will be granting scholarships to up to **300 scholars** for **Cohort 3**, spanning **26 participating institutions** in Texas.

Please see your institution's approved cohort size for the upcoming academic year 2024-2025 included below. Thank you for your commitment and participation in the Texas Leadership Scholars Program.

cc: Texas Leadership Scholars Program Institutional Liaisons

Enclosure

• Texas Leadership Scholars Program Cohort



PARTICIPATING INSTITUTION	COHORT 3 Ay 2024-25
Angelo State University	11
Lamar University	11
Midwestern State University	9
Prairie View A&M University	9
Sam Houston State University	11
Tarleton State University	11
Texas A&M University	14
Texas A&M University - Commerce	11
Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi	11
Texas A&M University International	9
Texas A&M University - Kingsville	9
Texas A&M University - San Antonio	9
Texas Southern University	9
Texas State University	14
Texas Tech University	14
Texas Woman's University	11
University of Houston	14
University of North Texas	14
University of Texas	14
University of Texas - Arlington	14
University of Texas - Dallas	14
University of Texas - El Paso	11
University of Texas - Rio Grande Valley	14
University of Texas - San Antonio	14
University of Texas - Tyler	9
West Texas A&M University	9