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B-ON-TIME LOAN PROGRAM 

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) Program Guidelines are intended to support institutions by 
highlighting requirements that appear in the Texas Education Code (TEC) and Title 20 of the Texas Administrative Code (TAC). 
When administering this program, institutions should always refer to the applicable statutes and rules. The information 
provided in this document is to be used solely as a resource and does not supersede the statute and/or rules for this program. 

PROGRAM AUTHORITY AND PURPOSE (19 TAC, SECTION 22.329) 

The Texas B-On-Time (BOT) Loan Program is authorized by TEC, Chapter 56, Section 56.0092. Rules establishing 
procedures to administer the program can be found in Title 19 of the TAC, Chapter 22, Subchapter Q. The purpose of the 
BOT Loan Program is to improve and increase access to higher education in Texas.  

ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS (19 TAC, SECTION 22.331) 

Public and private/independent institutions of higher education, as defined in TEC Section 61.003 (8), are eligible to make 
renewal awards only under the BOT Loan Program.

http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&rl=329
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&rl=329
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.56.htm#56.0092
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&sch=Q&rl=Y
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&rl=331
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.61.htm#61.003
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ELIGIBILITY 

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS (19 TAC, SECTION 22.333) 

 

AWARDING 

In determining the amount of a BOT award, students can receive funding only up to 
their cost of attendance (COA). A student’s COA includes tuition and fees, 
allowances for books and supplies, room and board, transportation expenses, and 
miscellaneous personal expenses. When certifying a BOT loan, the institution is 
confirming that the amount of the loan does not exceed the difference between 
the COA and other forms of student assistance (except Federal Plus loans) for which 
the student is eligible (See 20 TAC, Section 22.334).  

  

TO RECEIVE A RENEWAL AWARD, A STUDENT MUST: 

 Be classified by the institution as a Texas resident or be entitled to pay resident tuition 
rates as a dependent child of a member of the U.S. armed forces  

 Be registered with Selective Service, or be exempt 
 Be eligible to receive federal financial aid 
 Be enrolled full-time in a baccalaureate degree program  
 Have completed at least 75 percent of the hours attempted in the most recent 

academic year 
 Maintain an overall Grade Point Average (GPA) of at least 2.5 on a four-point scale or 

its equivalent for all coursework attempted 

 Be an undergraduate baccalaureate student that previously received an initial year 
award  

 Have not earned a baccalaureate degree 

BOT 2019-20 AWARD MAXIMUMS 

INSTITUTION TYPE 
AWARD 

MAX/YEAR 
AWARD 

MAX/SEMESTER 
PUBLIC UNIVERSITIES, HRIs AND 
PRIVATE/INDEPENDENT INSTITUTIONS 

$9,792 $4,896 

PUBLIC STATE COLLEGES  $5,876 $2,938 

PUBLIC TECHNICAL INSTITUTES  $5,988 $2,994 

PUBLIC COMMUNITY COLLEGES $3,272 $1,636 

A 3% ORIGINATION FEE WILL BE DEDUCTED FROM THE LOAN PROCEEDS. 

       ALERT: Beginning with the 2015-16 academic year, renewal awards only are 
authorized for the BOT Loan Program.  

GPA APPEALS  

A student who does not meet 
the GPA requirement at the 
end of a spring term can 
appeal to have courses taken 
at other institutions included 
in the GPA calculation. In this 
case, all grade points 
previously earned must be 
included in the overall GPA 
calculation.  

 

REINSTATEMENT OF 
ELIGIBILITY 

A student who fails to meet 
any of the requirements for 
receiving a continuation award 
after completion of any year, 
may not receive a BOT loan 
until he or she completes the 
necessary coursework to meet 
the completion and GPA 
requirements for a 
continuation award. 

 

LOAN ORIGINATION  

BOT loans may be originated in 
the HelmNet Loan Portal only 
for eligible renewal recipients. 
If an entered SSN does not 
have a prior BOT Loan 
associated with it, the system 
will not allow an application to 
be created or certified. 

ADDITIONAL 
INFORMATION 

http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&rl=333
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=T&app=9&p_dir=N&p_rloc=184410&p_tloc=&p_ploc=1&pg=3&p_tac=&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&rl=332
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SELECTIVE SERVICE STATEMENT (19 TAC, SECTION 22.3) 

In accordance with TEC, 51.9095, male students may not receive financial 
assistance without filing a Selective Service Status Statement with their 
institution or other entity granting or guaranteeing the assistance. Financial 
assistance includes grants, scholarships, loans or other assistance funded by 
state revenue, including federal funds or gifts and grants accepted by the state. 

  

When is a statement NOT required?  

A Selective Service Status Statement is not required when a student’s registration is 
confirmed on the Institutional Student Information Record (ISIR). The confirmation 
on the ISIR will serve as the student’s signed statement since the Department of 
Education validates registration directly with the Selective Service System (SSS) 
through a database match for male students who complete the Free Application for 
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). 

When is a statement required? 

•  For a male student that completes a FAFSA but is flagged “not registered” on the 
ISIR, the institution must determine the student’s status. 

о  If the student is registered, the institution must collect the status 
statement and proof of registration which can be used for subsequent semesters. 

о  If the student is exempt, the institution must collect the status statement 
and proof of exemption based on the student’s circumstances. The institution can 
determine what additional documentation to collect to verify the exemption.  

•  For a male student that does not complete a FAFSA, the required status statement 
and back-up documentation must be collected by the institution to verify the current 
selective service status if the individual is applying for any state financial aid.  

FREQUENCY COLLECTING THE 
STATEMENT 

If the student’s status will NOT 
change, the statement and 
supporting documentation can be 
used for subsequent semesters (e.g., 
the individual entered the U.S. after 
the eligible age to register).  

In the event the student’s status could 
change, the statement must be 
collected each academic year until the 
male student is registered or 
determined exempt (e.g., student is 
under 18). 

 

METHOD FOR COLLECTING THE 
STATEMENT  

The institution has discretion to 
determine how to collect this 
required status statement, which 
can be done electronically or on 
paper (e.g., online form, signed 
award letter, etc.).  

 

RETENTION SCHEDULE 

The status statement and all 
documentation must be retained in 
the student’s record and be made 
available if requested during a 
program review or audit. Each status 
statement collected must be retained 
with the student’s records for 7 years 
after the date of completion for the 
applicable award period  
(See TAC, Section 22.4(a)(2)(A)). 

 

REPROCESSED ISIRS 

If the student’s most recent ISIR 
transaction has been reprocessed by 
the Central Processing System (CPS) 
and the registration with SSS was 
confirmed, the institution does not 
need to collect the status statement 
or any documentation. 

ADDITIONAL 
INFORMATION 

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&rl=3
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/ED/htm/ED.51.htm#51.9095
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&rl=4
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SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS (SAP) (19 TAC, SECTION 22.333) 

A student’s SAP eligibility is determined at the end of each academic year. A student must complete 75% of total 
attempted hours in the academic year and have a minimum 2.5 cumulative GPA on a 4-point scale, or its equivalent.  

DISCONTINUATION OF ELIGIBILITY (19 TAC, SECTION 22.333) 

A student may not receive a BOT loan for more than 150 semester credit hours or the equivalent.  

If, in any given academic period, a student is no longer enrolled full-time and the THECB does not receive a refund of the 
BOT loan for that period, the dropped courses will be counted towards the calculation of the 150 SCH limit. 

HARDSHIP PROVISIONS (19 TAC, SECTION 22.335) 
A student who is ineligible for the BOT Loan based on course load and completion requirements may be deemed eligible 
under a hardship provision. Participating institutions must adopt a hardship policy and have the policy available for public 
review upon request. All hardship decisions must be documented in the student’s record and be available for submission 
to the THECB, if requested. 

PROCESSING FUNDS 

CERTIFYING FUNDS 

Funds will not be disbursed until the promissory note is signed by the borrower. Financial Aid Administrators can certify 
BOT loans using the following two methods:  

• Certify the loan through the HelmNet loan portal; OR 
• Submit a Commonline Loan Certification File using the MOVEit DMZ secure file transfer portal.  

Institutions can begin disbursing loan funds after September 1, 2019 for the 2019-20 academic year. 
  

END OF EACH  
ACADEMIC YEAR 

SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS (SAP) REQUIREMENTS 
75% completion rate  

of the hours attempted in the most recent 
academic year 

2.5 cumulative GPA on a  
4-point scale 

http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=T&app=9&p_dir=P&p_rloc=184411&p_tloc=&p_ploc=1&pg=10&p_tac=&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&rl=332
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=T&app=9&p_dir=P&p_rloc=184411&p_tloc=&p_ploc=1&pg=10&p_tac=&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&rl=332
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=T&app=9&p_dir=N&p_rloc=184411&p_tloc=&p_ploc=1&pg=12&p_tac=&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&rl=332
https://helmnet.thecb.state.tx.us/
https://dsv.thecb.state.tx.us/
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LOAN PROCESS FLOW 

Below is the loan process flow that occurs when a borrower completes a BOT application: 

 

RETURNING PROGRAM FUNDS 

A Return of Funds Form (RFF) must be submitted and approved before any funds are returned to the THECB. This form is 
available on the Student Financial Aid Programs (SFAP) Information Webpage under Online Resources. 

  

•Institution submits the certification online or by commonline file transferCertification

•Student completes the online application, submits promissory note and the 
Private Education Loan Applicant Self Certification formOnline Application

•The Private Education Loan Approval Disclosure or "LAD" is mailed to the 
student with instructions on how to accept the loan terms 

Private Education Loan Approval 
Disclosure 

•Student logs onto HelmNet to electronically complete and acknowledge the 
Loan Acceptance Disclosure Agreement

Loan Terms Accepted

•Private Education Loan Final Approval Disclosure  or "Loan Consummation 
Disclosure (LCD)" is mailed to the student informing them of their Right to Cancel 
and indicating the earliest date for delivery of funds

Private Education Loan Final 
Approval Disclosure  

•Funds can be scheduled for disbursement after the cancellation period has 
expired

Funding

        STOP:  TIMELY DISTRIBUTION OF FUNDS (19 TAC, Section 22.2) 

• Institutions have 3 business days after receiving the funds to apply the funds to a student’s account. 
• Institutions have 6 business days after receiving the funds to return undisbursed funds. 
• Institutions have 45 calendar days from the date a student becomes ineligible to return disbursed funds. 
• Institutions have 120 calendar days to return funds after a student has notified the institution of a decision to cancel the 

award. 

https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/apps/SpecialPrograms/returnfundsloan.cfm
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&rl=2
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REQUESTING LOAN CHANGES 

A BOT loan can never exceed the annual maximum amount certified by the institution, but there are several common 
situations where a BOT loan can be increased. Loan changes can be requested in writing through the CONTACT US link 
found on the SFAP webpage. 

• The institution certifies a loan and the student cancels all or part of the loan but later ends up needing the money 
during the loan period. The institution can request, in writing through CONTACT US, that the loan be increased up to 
the original certification amount. The institutions must confirm that the loan does not exceed the difference between 
the student’s COA and other forms of financial assistance for which the student is eligible. 

• The institution certifies a loan and the student becomes ineligible prior to the disbursement from the THECB. The 
institution cancels the loan but the student later becomes eligible during the loan period. The institution can request, 
in writing through CONTACT US, that the loan be reinstated up to the original certification amount. The institutions 
must confirm that the loan does not exceed the difference between the student’s COA and other forms of financial 
assistance for which the student is eligible. 

• The institution certifies a loan and returns funds during the loan period to the THECB. The institution can request, in 
writing through CONTACT US, that the loan be reinstated up to the original certification amount. The institutions must 
confirm that the loan does not exceed the difference between the student’s COA and other forms of financial 
assistance for which the student is eligible. 

  

        STOP: REINSTATING CANCELED LOANS 

Institutions can send a request in writing to reinstate a canceled loan or disbursement through CONTACT US. Requests received 
more than 60 days after the end of the loan period will not be processed. 

Common reasons why loans are canceled by the THECB: 
• Student did not approve the Loan Acceptance Disclosure (LAD) within 45 days of loan certification. 
• Student was reported by the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) database as enrolled less than half-time. 
• Student contacted the THECB and canceled the loan without informing the institution. 

       ALERT NEW: REQUIRED CONTACT US INQUIRY INFORMATION 

To ensure inquiries are routed correctly, the 
following steps must be completed: 

• Received From: Select Institution 
• Institution: Enter the Institution’s Full Name 
• Contact Reason: Select Financial Aid Question 

(regardless of the inquiry reason) 

Enter the following information in the Description box:  

• HelmNet Loan portal ID 
• Commonline Unique ID #: (16 Characters) 
• Student’s first name, last name, and middle initial  
• Last four digits of the student’s SSN 
 
Provide a detailed explanation of the change needed: 
 
• Unclear request: “Please update the loan 

disbursement to 04-01-2019”. 
• Clear request: “Please update loan disbursement #1    

from 01-15-2019 to 04-01-2019”. 
 

https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/Apps/CRAFT/Home/Create
https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/Apps/CRAFT/Home/Create
https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/Apps/CRAFT/Home/Create
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REPAYMENT 

BOT loans have a 6-month grace period beginning on the date the student ceases to 
be enrolled at least half-time at an eligible institution. Repayment is scheduled to 
begin after the expiration of the 6-month grace period. The BOT loan has a 15-year 
repayment period or a minimum monthly payment of $75.00. BOT loans have a 0% 
interest rate (See 19 TAC, Section 22.339).  

Deferments for education enrollment or periods of forbearance based on financial 
hardship are available. 

FORGIVENESS REQUIREMENTS (19 TAC, SECTION 22.337) 

A BOT loan may be forgiven if the student provides the THECB an Application for 
Forgiveness. Section two of this form must be completed by the institutional 
Registrar’s office certifying that the student:  

• Graduated with a B average, or a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 on 
a 4-point scale and: 
o Received a baccalaureate degree within four calendar years after the date the 

student initially enrolled in an eligible institution; or  
o Within five calendar years after the student initially enrolled in an eligible 

institution if the institution reports that the student graduated with a degree in 
architecture, engineering, or any other program that the institution certifies to 
the Board is a program that requires more than four years to complete; OR 

• Graduated with a B average, or with a cumulative grade point average of at least 
3.0 on a 4-point scale with no more than six hours more than the number of credit 
hours required to complete a baccalaureate degree. 
o Total number of hours earned includes transfer credit hours and excludes 

hours earned exclusively by examination, dual credit course hours, and hours 
earned for developmental coursework that an institution required the student 
to take under TEC, Section 51.336 (relating to Success Initiative). 

        ALERT NEW:  ANNUAL STUDENT LOAN DEBT DISCLOSURE (19 TAC, SECTION 21.45) 

All participating institutions must provide students with a letter, in an electronic format, 
estimating each student’s total loan obligations, at least once a year. The purpose of this letter 
is to provide students with timely information on their education loan debt so they can make 
informed decisions about student loan borrowing.  

Student loan debt disclosures must include: 
• All education loan debt from the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS), as well as 

information that the institution may reasonably collect from its own records. 
• Any estimates of the unpaid amount of state, federal, and other education loans 

obtained by the student (if reasonably available to the institution); the types of 
education loans must be identified for each total included. 

• *An estimate of the total payoff amount or a range for that amount, including principal 
and interest. 

• *An estimate of monthly repayment amount, including principal and interest. 

*At a minimum, institutions shall provide this information based on a 10-year repayment plan. 

NOTE: This guidance may change based on recent legislative activity; any necessary updates 
will be provided accordingly. 

 

 

APPEALS PROCESS  

If a student disagrees with 
the decision about his or 
her eligibility for 
forgiveness, the student 
can send a dispute letter 
explaining the situation 
and reason for appealing 
to: 

Director of Borrower 
Services  
THECB  
P.O. Box 12788  
Austin, TX 78711 
Fax: (512) 427-6423 

 

FORGIVENESS DEADLINE 

There is no deadline for 
completing the 
Application for 
Forgiveness. Submitting 
the application early will 
help avoid collection 
efforts, since BOT Loans 
are automatically 
scheduled for repayment 
six months after a student 
is no longer enrolled at 
least half-time or the last 
date of the student’s 
enrollment.  

 

Enrollment Requirements  

No student enrolled for 
fewer than six hours may 
receive a BOT award, 
regardless of the 
circumstances, including 
graduation. 

ADDITIONAL 
INFORMATION 

http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=T&app=9&p_dir=N&p_rloc=184415&p_tloc=&p_ploc=1&pg=7&p_tac=&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&rl=339
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&rl=337
http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/reports/pdf/11078.pdf?CFID=79321296&CFTOKEN=88194194
http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/reports/pdf/11078.pdf?CFID=79321296&CFTOKEN=88194194
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/ED/htm/ED.51.htm#51.336
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.ViewTAC?tac_view=5&ti=19&pt=1&ch=21&sch=C&rl=Y
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APPENDIX 1: QUICK REFERENCES 
 

CONTACT FINANCIAL AID SERVICES  
By phone: (844) 792-2640 

Contact us by completing an online inquiry form and select “Financial Aid Question” as the Contact Reason. 

OTHER RESOURCES FOR INSTITUTIONS 
General program information for institutions Student Financial Aid Programs Information Webpage 

General loan information  HHloans 

Higher Education Loan Management System (HelmNet) HelmNet Student Loan Portal 

Texas Program Statutes Texas Education Code  

Texas Program Rules Texas Administrative Code  

Information concerning programs, procedures, 
allocations, and other topics will be communicated to 
institutions through the GovDelivery system. To receive 
these communications, interested individuals must 
subscribe. 

GovDelivery 

Federal Selective Service Requirement Guide Who Must Register Chart 

AVAILABLE FORMS  
A form is required when returning funds for all state 
grant, scholarship, Educational Aide Exemption, and loan 
program funds. 

Grants and Special Programs Online Return of Funds Form 
Loan Programs Online Return of Funds Form 

CALENDAR  
Institutional Calendar 

 

https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/Apps/CRAFT/Home/Create
http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/index.cfm?objectid=31FCD980-1C17-11E8-BC500050560100A9
http://www.hhloans.com/
https://helmnet.thecb.state.tx.us/
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/
http://www.sos.state.tx.us/tac/
https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/apps/SpecialPrograms/formreq.cfm
https://www.sss.gov/Portals/0/PDFs/WhoMustRegisterChart.pdf
https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/apps/SpecialPrograms/returnfunds.cfm
https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/apps/SpecialPrograms/returnfundsloan.cfm
http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/reports/PDF/12105.PDF?CFID=92463539&CFTOKEN=23687421
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