

Stuart W. Stedman CHAIR

Fred Farias III, O.D. VICE CHAIR

John T. Steen, Jr. SECRETARY OF THE BOARD

Michelle Q. Tran STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

Arcilia C. Acosta S. Javaid Anwar Michael J. Plank Ricky A. Raven Donna N. Williams Welcome Wilson, Jr.

Raymund A. Paredes COMMISSIONER OF HIGHER EDUCATION

(512) 427-6101 Fax (512) 427-6127

Web site: http://www.thecb.state.tx.us TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

<u>Memorandum</u>

November 30, 2018

TO: Presidents and Chancellors, Texas Public Universities, Health-Related Institutions, and Public State Colleges

FROM: Raymund A. Paredes



SUBJECT: Tuition Rate for Nonresident and Foreign Students for Academic Year 2019-2020

As directed by Section 54.051(d) of the Texas Education Code, Coordinating Board staff has determined that the tuition rate for nonresident students enrolled in public universities and health-related institutions for the academic year 2019-2020 will be set at **\$472** per semester credit hour plus any designated tuition and, when appropriate, Board-authorized graduate tuition charged by your institution. Exceptions include tuition rates for nonresident students enrolled in medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, and law. The tuition rates for those students are provided in other paragraphs of Section 54.051 of the Texas Education Code.

The nonresident tuition set-aside for the Texas Public Educational Grant Program (TPEG) is three percent of the basic nonresident tuition rate of **\$472** per hour. TPEG set-asides are not subtracted from designated tuition or Boardauthorized tuition.

A description of the nonresident tuition rate calculation and a copy of the relevant statute are enclosed. If you would like more information about the figures, please contact Julie Eklund at 512-427-6533 or by e-mail at Julie.Eklund@thecb.state.tx.us.

Enclosures

c: Chief Fiscal Officer Liaisons

SPF/dy/bb

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Calculation of Nonresident Tuition Rates for Fall 2019

Section 54.051 (d) of the Texas Education Code requires that nonresident student tuition equal the average tuition charged to a Texas resident attending a public university in each of the five most populous states of the United States. Because most states do not differentiate between tuition and fees, Coordinating Board staff interprets the Legislature's directive to mean that the combination of base tuition, designated tuition, and fees in Texas should be equal to the average of tuition and fees in the other five most populous states.

The five most populous states other than Texas, and their reported average nonresident tuition and fee figures for 30 semester credit hours (SCH) for the 2017-2018 academic year, adjusted for inflation, are as follows:

| California | \$26,127 |
|--------------|-----------|
| Florida | \$21,240 |
| Illinois | \$20,672 |
| New York | \$18,083 |
| Pennsylvania | \$21,940 |
| Total | \$108,062 |
| Average | \$21,612 |

Data Source: The Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS - 2017 to 2018, The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor (BLS), Integrated Fiscal Reporting System (IFRS) - fall 2017

The base nonresident tuition for Texas was calculated as follows:

| • | Average tuition and f | ees for the five most populous states | \$21,612 |
|---|-----------------------|---------------------------------------|----------|
|---|-----------------------|---------------------------------------|----------|

| • | Less: | |
|---|--|----------|
| | Average TX mandatory fees for 30 SCH | -\$2,578 |
| | Average TX designated tuition for 30 SCH | \$4,863 |

- Average nonresident tuition, less fees \$14,171
- Base Texas nonresident tuition per credit hour \$14,171/30 SCH) \$ 472

To the base nonresident tuition, each institution should add designated tuition and (when appropriate) board-authorized graduate tuition to compute total nonresident tuition.

Nonresident tuition = \$472 per SCH + (Designated Tuition) + (Board-authorized Graduate Tuition) Section 54.051(d) of the Texas Education Code provides:

Unless a different rate is specified by this section, tuition for a nonresident student at a general academic teaching institution or medical and dental unit is an amount per semester credit hour equal to the average of the nonresident undergraduate tuition charged to a resident of this state at a public state university in each of the five most populous states other than this state, as computed by the coordinating board under this section. The coordinating board shall set the tuition rate provided by this subsection for each academic year and report that rate to each appropriate institution not later than January 1 of the calendar year in which the academic year begins, or as soon after the January 1 date as practicable. In computing the tuition rate, the coordinating board shall use the nonresident tuition rates for the other states in effect for the academic year in progress when the board makes the computation.