

LINDA BATTLES, M.P.AFF. Deputy Commissioner Agency Operations and Communications/Chief Operating Officer 512-427-6026 Fax 512-427-6127

KEN MARTIN Assistant Commissioner for Financial Services/Chief Financial Officer 512-427-6173 Fax 512-427-6169

CHARLES W. PULS, Ed.D Deputy Assistant Commissioner for Student Financial Aid Programs 512-427-6365 Fax 512-427-6423

ZHEN ZHEN SUN Assistant Commissioner for Information Solutions & Services 512-427-6259 Fax 512-427-6447

TONIA SCAPERLANDA Director Human Resources 512-427-6193 Fax 512-427-6510

JOHN WYATT Director External Relations 512-427-6586 Fax 512-427-6127

## TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

Agency Operations and Communications

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

TO: Directors of Financial Aid Texas Public and Private/Independent Institutions of Higher Education

FROM: DeChà Reid Director, Financial Aid Services

DATE: October 20, 2017

RE: User Access Portal Review

Financial Aid Services is launching our annual User Access clean-up for the secure web portals that are used to send and receive information between institutions and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB). The three main financial aid portals are: Higher Education Loan Management System (HelmNet), Coordinating Board Pass (CBPASS) and MOVEit DMZ. These web portals allow staff at the institution to access FERPA regulated information. For compliance and security purposes, institutions are required to ensure user access to these portals is accurate and up-to-date throughout the year.

Enclosed is a spreadsheet along with instructions to confirm the current users for these portals at each institution. Directors will be required to review the list of users for HelmNet, CBPASS and MOVEit to determine if updates are needed. The deadline to update user information is **November 9, 2017.** 

For questions or concerns about user access, please contact Financial Aid Services at 1-844-792-2640 or email <u>UserAccess@thecb.state.tx.us</u>.

Enclosed: User Access Database Listing

cc: Ken Martin, Assistant Commissioner Charles W. Puls, Deputy Assistant Commissioner