

TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD

Agency Operations and Communications

P.O. Box 12788 Austin, Texas 78711

LINDA BATTLES, M.P.AFF. Deputy Commissioner Agency Operations and Communications/Chief Operating Officer 512-427-6205 Fax 512-427-6127

KEN MARTIN Assistant Commissioner for Financial Services/Chief Financial Officer 512-427-6173 Fax 512-427-6169

CHARLES W. PULS, Ed.D Deputy Assistant Commissioner for Student Financial Aid Programs 512-427-6365 Fax 512-427-6423

ZHEN ZHEN SUN Assistant Commissioner for Information Solutions & Services 512-427-6259 Fax 512-427-6447

TONIA SCAPERLANDA Director Human Resources 512-427-6193 Fax 512-427-6510

JOHN WYATT Director External Relations 512-427-6586 Fax 512-427-6127 TO: Directors of Financial Aid

Texas Public and Independent/Private Institutions of Higher Education

FROM: DeChà Reid

Director, Financial Aid Services

DATE: July 3, 2018

RE: Texas Armed Services Scholarship Program (TASSP) Award Amount - FY 2019

This memo is to announce the maximum award amount for TASSP during the 2018-19 academic year. The annual amount for initial and renewal awards is \$4,000. The deadline for legislators to make a TASSP appointment is **July 31, 2018** and students must complete their TASSP online applications by **October 15, 2018**.

The purpose of the TASSP is to encourage students to become members of the Texas Army National Guard, Texas Air National Guard, Texas State Guard, United States Coast Guard or United States Merchant Marine, or to become commissioned officers in any branch of the armed services of the United States. Each year the governor and the lieutenant governor may each appoint two students and two alternates, and each state senator and each state representative may appoint one student and one alternate to receive an initial conditional TASSP award.

For questions or concerns, please contact Financial Aid Services at (844) 792-2640 or <u>CONTACT US</u> (select the "Student Loan-School Info Request" option in the drop-down selection under Contact Reason).

cc: Ken Martin, Assistant Commissioner Charles W. Puls, Deputy Assistant Commissioner Rinn Harper, Director, Borrower Services