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COLLEGE ACCESS LOAN PROGRAM

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) Program Guidelines are intended to support institutions by
highlighting requirements that appear in the Texas Education Code (TEC) and Title 19 of the Texas Administrative Code
(TAC). When administering this program, institutions should always refer to the applicable statutes and rules. The
information provided in this document is to be used solely as a resource and does not supersede the statute and/or rules
for this program.

PROGRAM AUTHORITY AND PURPOSE

The College Access Loan (CAL) Program is part of the Hinson-Hazlewood College Student Loan Program, authorized by
TEC, Chapter 52, Subchapter A. Rules establishing procedures to administer the subchapter can be found in Title 19 of the
TAC, Chapter 22, Subchapter C. The CAL Program provides alternative educational loans to Texas students who are unable
to meet the Cost of Attendance (COA).

ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS

The following institutions and entities located in Texas are eligible to participate in the CAL Program:

e Public or private nonprofit institutions of higher education, including junior colleges, accredited by a recognized
accrediting agency as defined in TEC, Section 61.003; OR
Entities, including Regional Education Services Centers, approved by the State Board of Educator Certification to
offer an alternative certification program.
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http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.52.htm
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http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.61.htm#61.003
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ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

STUDENTS MUST MEET THE
FOLLOWING ELIGIBILITY

STUDENTS AND COSIGNERS MUST MEET
THE FOLLOWING CREDIT APPROVAL

REQUIREMENTS:

Be classified by the institution as a
Texas resident
Be registered with Selective Service,
or be exempt
Have insufficient resources to
finance his or her education
Be enrolled at least half-time or
higher in
e Acourse of study leading to a
certificate, an associate,
baccalaureate, graduate, or
higher degree; OR
An approved alternative
educator certification program
Be meeting the satisfactory
academic progress (SAP)
requirements set by the institution
Receive a favorable credit evaluation
or provide a cosigner who has a

REQUIREMENTS:

Have an Experian VantageScore of 650

or higher

Not have public records such as tax liens

or bankruptcy proceedings

Have a minimum of 4 credit trade lines,

excluding student loans or authorized
user accounts

Not have defaulted on any federal or
private education loans

COSIGNERS MUST:

Be at least 21 years of age

Have a regular source of income

Not be the borrower or the spouse of
the borrower

Receive a favorable credit evaluation

good credit standing and meets
other requirements

Be a U.S. citizen or a permanent U.S.
resident and reside in the U.S. orin a
U.S. territory

AWARDING

Students may receive CAL funding to cover reasonable expenses only, not to exceed
the Cost of Attendance (COA) (see IRS Certification Requirements). When certifying
a CAL, institutions are confirming that the amount of the requested loan is $100 or
greater and does not exceed the difference between the student’s COA and other
forms of financial assistance for which the student is eligible (regardless of whether
the student actually accepts the aid). The other forms of student assistance that
must be considered when determining the amount of a CAL eligibility include:

e Free sources of student aid, such as gifts, grants and scholarships; AND
e The amount of any Federal Direct Stafford Loan (including subsidized and
unsubsidized) that a student borrower is eligible to receive.
o Eligibility for Federal PLUS loans should not be considered when
determining the amount of a CAL.

NOTE: A student’s federal Direct Loan Program eligibility must be taken into
consideration even if the institution does not package Direct Loans or if the student
declines to complete a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).

ADDITIONAL
INFORMATION

CAL INTEREST RATE CHANGE

Applications certified on or
after May 1, 2019 will carry a
fixed annual interest rate of
5.2%.

CALCULATING ELIGIBILITY FOR
TASFA FILERS:

If a student files a Texas
Application for State Financial
Aid (TASFA), the financial
assistance to be deducted
should include all aid they were
awarded. No Title IV eligibility
would be included in the
deduction of other forms of
financial assistance when
calculating the loan amount.

CALCULATING ELIGIBILITY FOR
NON-FAFSA FILERS:

If a student is eligible but
chooses not to file a FAFSA, the
financial assistance to be
deducted should include all aid
they were awarded. The
institution must also deduct the
maximum Direct Loan eligibility
(including subsidized and
unsubsidized) based on the
student’s grade level and the
institution’s best determination
of dependency status (even if
the institution does not
participate in the Direct Loan
program). If the institution has
nothing in their records that
would suggest the student is
independent, then dependent
can be used as the default.
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http://www.highered.texas.gov/institutional-resources-programs/student-financial-aid-programs/program-resources/loan-programs/irs-certification-requirements/

UPDATED

SELECTIVE SERVICE STATEMENT

Male students must be registered with or exempt from
Selective Service (SS) in order to be eligible to receive federal
or state financial assistance. In accordance with TEC, Section

51.9095, male students must file the required Selective Service

Statement of Registration Status (found below) with their institution or other
entity granting or guaranteeing financial assistance. This includes grants,
scholarships, loans, or other assistance funded by state revenue, including federal
funds or gifts and grants accepted by the state.

When is the statement NOT Required?

When the SS registration is confirmed through the Institutional Student
Information Record (ISIR): The ISIR confirmation serves as the student’s
official, signed statement because the Department of Education validates
registration directly with the Selective Service System (SSS).

NEW When the SS registration is confirmed through the SSS.gov website: The
institution can save the confirmation directly from the website to serve as
the student’s official, signed statement on record.

NEW When the ISIR confirms that a student is under the age of 18: No
statement or documentation is needed for the applicable award year, even if
the student turns 18 during that year.

When is the statement REQUIRED, including all supporting documentation?

When the student completes a Free Application for Federal Student Aid
(FAFSA) but is flagged “not registered” on the ISIR and SS status cannot be
confirmed on the SSS.gov website.

NEW When the student completes a Texas Application for State Financial Aid
(TASFA): The required statement is embedded in the 2020-21 TASFA and
must be completed by the student.

NEW When the student does not complete a FAFSA or TASFA but applies for
state financial aid, such as through exemptions or waivers, and SS status
cannot be confirmed on the SSS.gov website.
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ADDITIONAL
INFORMATION

FREQUENCY COLLECTING THE
STATEMENT

If the student’s status will NOT
change, the statement and
supporting documentation can be
used for subsequent semesters.
(Example: The student entered the
U.S. after the eligible age to
register.)

If the student’s status is temporary,
the statement must be collected each
academic year until the student is
registered or determined exempt.
(Example: Student is under age 18 but
did not complete a FAFSA or TASFA.)

RETENTION SCHEDULE

The status statement and all
documentation must be retained in
the student’s record for 7 years after
the date of completion of the award
period (TEC, Section 441.1855).

REPROCESSED ISIRS

If the student’s most recent ISIR
transaction has been reprocessed by
the Central Processing System (CPS)
and the registration with the SSS
was confirmed, the institution does
not need to collect the status
statement or any documentation.

Institutions may collect the required status statement and documentation either electronically or on paper.

(English Statement or Spanish Statement)

SELECTIVE SERVICE STATEMENT OF REGISTRATION STATUS
Male students must verify their current Selective Service registration status by marking one of the statements below and providing proof of their registration
status to their current institution. Failure to do so may result in the loss of eligibility for state financial aid.

| am under the age of 18 and not currently required to register.

| am REGISTERED with the Selective Servics and,
Check the following box that applies: Check the following box that applies:
01 have already submitted proof of registration to my current institution.
O Proof of registration is included with this statement

O | will submit preof of my registration.

NOTE: Proof is required to be considered eligible for financial aid.

| am EXEMPT from registration and,

O I have already submitted proof of my exemption to my current institution.
O Proof of my exemption is included with this statement.
O 1 will submit proof of my exemption.

NOTE: Proof is required to be considered eligible for financial aid.

| am over the age of 18. | am not registered with Selective Service and | am not exempt from registration with Selective Service.

hereby certify that the Selective Service status statement provided above is true and accurate.

Date:
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https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/ED/htm/ED.51.htm#51.9095
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/ED/htm/ED.51.htm#51.9095
https://www.sss.gov/
https://www.sss.gov/
https://www.sss.gov/
http://reportcenter.thecb.state.tx.us/agency-publication/blank-forms-templates/selective-service-statement-of-registration-status/
http://reportcenter.thecb.state.tx.us/agency-publication/blank-forms-templates/declaracion-de-estatus-de-registro-en-el-servicio-selectivo/
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/GV/htm/GV.441.htm#441.1855
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SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS (SAP)

A student must be meeting the minimum satisfactory academic progress (SAP) requirements of the institution in the
semester any loan is made. Institutions have the flexibility to define what it means to meet SAP requirements. If a student
is not meeting the institution’s SAP, a documented appeal process may be used to determine if the student is eligible for
CAL. A student can receive a CAL if a SAP appeal has been approved by the institution.

PROCESSING FUNDS

LOAN PROCESS FLOW

Below is the loan process flow that occurs when a borrower completes a CAL application:

Online Application

Private Education Loan Approval
Disclosure

Loan Terms Accepted

Private Education Loan Final
Approval Disclosure

The earliest a loan can be
disbursed is 11 business days
after the LCD is mailed to
borrower.

Day 1 \

*Student completes the online application, submits the promissory note and the
Private Education Loan Applicant Self Certification form

*THECB reviews and approves the application

e Institution submits the certification online or by commonline file transfer

*Private Education Loan Approval Disclosure or "LAD" is mailed to the student with
instructions on how to accept the loan terms

*Student logs onto HelmNet to electronically complete and acknowledge the Loan
Acceptance Disclosure Agreement

*Private Education Loan Final Approval Disclosure or "Loan Consummation Disclosure
(LCD)" is mailed to the student informing them of their Right to Cancel and indicating
the earliest date for delivery of funds

*Funds can be scheduled for disbursement after the cancellation period has expired

+4 Days \
Right to Cancel y

Period

Midnight of the
7th day after
date mailed.

+ 3 Days
Funds
delivered in 3
business days.

+ 3 Days
Reasonable
Delivery Time.

LCD y

mailed to
borrower.
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CERTIFYING LOAN APPLICATIONS _

Institutions can certify eligible loans throughout the academic year on an as-

needed basis. The certification of the loan cannot exceed the student’s requested ADDITIONAL
amount. Funds will not be disbursed until the promissory note is signed by the

borrower (and cosigner, when applicable) and the Financial Aid Administrator INFORMATION
certifies the loan application using one of the following two methods:

e Certify the loan through the HelmNet loan portal; OR HELMNET LOAN PORTAL
e Submit a Commonline Loan Certification File using the MOVEit DMZ secure file

transfer portal. THECB’s Higher Education Loan

Management System (HELMS)
REQUESTING LOAN CHANGES allows institutions, students, and

cosigners to manage loan
A CAL can never exceed the amount certified by the institution. After certification, a aCCf3unt5 through a secure
CAL can be increased up to the original certified amount when: online portal called HelmNet.

e The student cancels all or part of the loan but later ends up needing the
money during the loan period. LOGIN PAGE

The student becomes ineligible prior to the disbursement from the THECB. HelmNet Portal

The institution cancels the loan but the student later becomes eligible o rafttiens muss sulbmit &

during the loan period. System Authorization Form
to the THECB to request
access to certify a loan.
Students and cosigners must
The institution can request in writing through CONTACT US that the loan be each create an online
increased or reinstated up to the original certification amount. The institutions account to apply for a loan or
must confirm that the loan does not exceed the difference between the student’s view the status of any loans
COA and other forms of financial assistance for which the student is eligible. a2 8:E

The institution has already returned funds to the THECB during the loan
period but needs all or part of the funds reissued.

A CAL cannot be increased in the following situation:

e The institution certifies LESS than what the student was pre-approved to
borrow.

For example: The student ends up needing more money after certification and
wants to increase his or her current loan amount. The loan amount CANNOT be
increased beyond the certified amount by the institution even though the student
may have been pre-approved for more than what was certified.

o STOP: REINSTATING CANCELED LOANS

Institutions can send a request in writing through CONTACT US to reinstate a canceled loan
or disbursement. Requests received more than 60 days after the end of the loan period will
not be processed.

Common reasons why loans are canceled by the THECB:
Student did not approve the Loan Acceptance Disclosure (LAD) within 45 days of loan
certification.

Student was reported by the National Student Clearinghouse (NSC) database as
enrolled less than half-time.

Student contacted the THECB and canceled the loan without informing the institution.
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https://helmnet.thecb.state.tx.us/
https://dsv.thecb.state.tx.us/
https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/Apps/CRAFT/Home/Create
https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/Apps/CRAFT/Home/Create
https://helmnet.thecb.state.tx.us/
https://helmnet.thecb.state.tx.us/
http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/reports/PDF/8566.PDF?CFID=60515527&CFTOKEN=44789195
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REQUESTING LOAN CHANGES CONTINUED

! ALERT: REQUIRED CONTACT US INQUIRY INFORMATION

To ens}‘re inquiries are routed correctly, the Student Financial Aid Programs Information (SFAP)
following steps must be completed: Webpage

° Received From: SeIeCt |nStitUti0n INSTITUTIONAL TOLL-FREE NUMBER: 1-844-792-2640
° Institution: Enter the Institution’s Full Name ONLINE [NQU]RIES:seIect “Financial Aid Question” option under contact reason)
o Contact Reason: Select Financial Aid Question The Financial Aid Services Department is unavailable every third Thursday in the morning to allow for a monthly staff meeting

(regardless of the inquiry reason) Ews vol

+ el Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
comer—Contact Us
Enter the following information in the Description box: e |

commut A asterisk * by the field indicates a required field!
» School 4

HelmNet Loan portal ID contac
Commonline Unique ID #: (16 Characters)
Student’s first name, last name, and middle initial ey Institution [College ofHigher Educations
Last four digits of the student’s SSN Contact Reason*  [Financial Ad Quesiion

Received From* INSTITUTION

Description* 3740 characters left
HelmNet ID: 00XXXXX00LastAA

Provide a detailed explanation of the change needed:
Commonline unique ID #: 123456123456123

Give as many details pertaining to your request as tudent, Sudert, S

possible, for example: SSN:00L1

e Unclear request: “Please update the loan Student was initially enrolled in 4hr for spring currently enrolled for 12hr
d | 5] b ursement to 04'0 1' 2020 . " Please do NOT include your full Social Sacurity Number inside th issue description. If you have a question zbout the
C|ea|' I'equeSt' ”Please update |0an d|sbur5ement #1 status of a new loan application, accounts in repaymen, or deferments, please use the last four digits of your SSN instead.
from 01-15-2020 to 04-01-2020.”

v

RETURNING PROGRAM FUNDS

A Return of Funds Form (RFF) must be submitted before any funds are returned to the THECB. This form is available on
the Student Financial Aid Programs (SFAP) Information Webpage under Online Resources.

TIMELY DISTRIBUTION OF FUNDS

Institutions must follow these requirements when processing program funds (see 19 TAC, Section 22.2):

Institutions have 3 business days after receiving the funds to apply the funds to a student’s account.

Institutions have 6 business days after receiving the funds to return undisbursed funds.

Institutions have 45 calendar days from the date a student becomes ineligible to return disbursed funds.

Institutions have 120 calendar days to return funds after a student has notified the institution of a decision to cancel the
award.

As of 04/30/2020 Guidelines 2020-21 6



https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/apps/SpecialPrograms/returnfundsloan.cfm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=19&pt=1&ch=22&rl=2
https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/Apps/CRAFT/Home/Create
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REPAYMENT

The CAL has a 6-month grace period beginning on the date the student ceases to be enrolled at least half-time at an
eligible institution. Repayment is scheduled to begin after the expiration of the 6-month grace period. All loans have a
minimum monthly repayment amount of $50. There is a maximum repayment period of 10 years for loans with a principal
balance under $30,000, and a maximum repayment period of 20 years for loans with a principal balance of $30,000 or
more. If the balance is greater than $30,000 at the time the account initially enters repayment, the monthly payment
amount must be enough to pay off the entire debt in no more than 20 years. The CAL will not be sold to another lender.

NOTE: Borrowers who enroll in the Automatic Debit (ACH) payment service will receive a 0.25% interest rate reduction on
the interest rate of each applicable loan in repayment.

! UPDATED: ANNUAL STUDENT LOAN DEBT DISCLOSURE (19 TAC, SECTION 21.49)

All participating institutions must provide students with a letter, in an electronic format, estimating each student’s total loan
obligations, at least once a year. The purpose of this letter is to provide students with timely information on their education loan
debt so that they can make informed decisions about student loan borrowing.

Student loan debt disclosures must include:

e All education loan debt from the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS), as well as information that the institution

may reasonably collect from its own records.

e An estimate of the unpaid amount of federal education loans and state education loans obtained by the student at the current
institution. The types of education loans must be identified for each total included.

e *An estimate of the total payoff amount or a range for that amount, including principal and interest.

e *An estimate of monthly repayment amount, including principal and interest.

*At a minimum, institutions shall provide this information based on a 10-year repayment plan.

As of 04/30/2020 Guidelines 2020-21
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APPENDIX 1: QUICK REFERENCES

By phone: (844) 792-2640

General program information for institutions

Contact us by completing an online inquiry form and select “Financial Aid Question” as the Contact Reason.

OTHER RESOURCES FOR INSTITUTIONS

Student Financial Aid Programs Information Webpage

General loan information

HHloans

Texas Program Statutes

Texas Education Code

Texas Program Rules

Texas Administrative Code

First-time users will be required to create an account for
CBPass and then request access to the online Grant
Payment application.

Directors of Financial Aid must submit a form to add,
update, or remove a user’s access to state financial aid
web portals through the THECB.

AVAILABLE FORMS

CBPass
CBPass User Instruction Guide

System Authorization Form

A form is required when returning funds for all state

grant, scholarship, Educational Aide Exemption, and loan
program funds.

Special Programs Online Return of Funds Form
Loan Programs Online Return of Funds Form

The THECB accepts funds electronically as an Automated
Clearing House (ACH) or wire transfer.

Electronic Funds Transfer Information

As of 04/30/2020 Guidelines 2020-21 8



https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/Apps/CRAFT/Home/Create
http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/institutional-resources-programs/student-financial-aid-programs/
http://www.hhloans.com/
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/
http://www.sos.state.tx.us/tac/
https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/CBPass/
http://reportcenter.thecb.state.tx.us/agency-publication/guidelines-manuals/grants-and-special-programs-cbid-institutional-user-instructions/
http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/reports/PDF/8566.PDF?CFID=99175741&CFTOKEN=72086312
https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/apps/SpecialPrograms/returnfunds.cfm
https://www1.thecb.state.tx.us/apps/SpecialPrograms/returnfundsloan.cfm
http://reportcenter.thecb.state.tx.us/agency-publication/miscellaneous/sfap-electronic-funds-transfer-information/
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